August in Books

Considering my current uni workload and a reading slump I’m surprised I managed to read six books in August. It’s not a huge number of course, but I’m quite happy with it and most of those books were pretty great reads.

The News Where You Are by Catherine O’Flynn is her second novel and one I enjoyed immensely. Her first, What Was Lost, will remain my favorite though.

The Agency: A Spy in the House by Y. S. Lee was sadly not what I expected, but I think that’s all my fault and I know a lot of people enjoyed this one.

DreadfulWater Shows Up was a great read and I did not regret taking a break from British cosy crime. Hope there’ll be a book 2 soon!

Rack, Ruin and Murder is of course a British cosy, I’m still trying to figure out how much the cover art of these books influences me 😀 This one is the second book in her new Campbell and Carter series and I like it much more than the Mitchell and Markby books.

The Strange Case of the Composer and his Judge I wrote about here. And then when the reading slump hit and I was feeling meh about every book, Wodehouse to the rescue. Something Fresh or Something New is the first in the Blandings Castle series and I can tell the Threepwoods and I are going to be great friends.

Hope everyone had a great August, any plans for September? I know I will be reading (or am currently reading) Frenchman’s Creek for Jo’s readalong.

16 thoughts on “August in Books

  1. Congratulations on a wonderful reading month, Bina! It is amazing that you managed all this during a busy time at uni! I am so jealous that you read mostly cosy mysteries and PG Wodehouse 🙂

  2. Congrats on a good reading month, even with how busy you’ve been. I haven’t read any cosy crime in forever! Really must get back to the Agatha Raisin series soon. As for this month I’m planning to get more reading done for the two challenges I’m taking part in, Read-A-Myth and Mental Illness Advocacy.

  3. Congrats on reading 6! It’s a nice feeling or pushing the boundaries and not keeping score and then viola! you did better than you think you could! 🙂 Hope you have a good month this September.

    p/s: I have finished Frenchman’s Creek in one day (I can’t help it) but I’ll wait… it’s so good. 🙂

  4. Wow, August really has been a good reading month for you despite all the uni stuff. I have already bought Catherine O’Flynn’s second book and it is lying in my flat in Gernany and waiting for me, so I hope we’ll soon be able to discuss it.

    I discovered a new writer in August, Tracy Chevalier, and I highly recommend her book “Falling Angels” to anyone who likes a book that is mainly set on a graveyard and who enjoys reading about the end of the Victorian and the beginning of the Edwardian era in London, friendship, secret affairs and suffragettes.

    1. Hope you’ll enjoy The News, let me know what you think!
      I’ve read Chevalier’s Girl with a Pearl Earring a couple of years ago. But Falling Angels sounds better what with the setting and time 🙂

  5. Did you enjoy reading Girl With A Pearl Earring then? I have thought about reading other novels by Chevalier, especially “Burning Bright” and “The Virgin Blue”. But the two that I have read by her, “Falling Angels” and “Remarkable Creatures”, are considered to be her best novels – at least by amazon customers.;)
    I am looking forward to reading “The News”, I just hope it will not be very depressing.

    1. Well, it was alright. I think the book was probably quite good, just not for me. Well, if amazon customers says so ;D I’ll have to try those two books then.

      Hope you like The News, I didn’t find it depressing, there was just an underlying sadness, but nothing dramatic.

Leave a Reply

