Library Loot: September 21-27

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader. Marg has the Mr Linky this week.

Here’s my library loot (the fun one) for this week:

The City & The City (China Miéville)

This has never not been checked put from the library, I was beginning to think the library catalogue was lying to me. But lo and behold it looks like it’s finally my turn!

Lost (Gregory Maguire)

I loved Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister and Wicked, but was too devastated by the ending of the latter to read more of his works. I thought I might just be about ready to forgive Maguire (and Baum) and try Lost. Also, couldn’t resist the cover.

Little Hands Clapping (Dan Rhodes)

I simply can’t resist “morbidly funny” and “disturbing and delightful”, blurbs don’t you dare toy with me! But then I’m the idiot who falls for every supposed “black comedy”.

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters (G. W. Dahlquist)

I’ve been eyeing this one for ages but never actually read it, I thought it couldn’t possibly be as great as it sounded. I hope you’ll all tell me whether it’s worth trying, I don’t want to torture myself with this chunkster hoping it’ll get better.

Skippy Dies (Paul Murray)

I’m always reading everything at least a year after everyone else. I remember seeing it in London but wasn’t convinced enough to actually buy the book, so thank you library for acquiring a copy.

The Case of the Man Who Died Laughing (Tarquin Hall)

I really enjoyed the first Vish Puri book and can always do with another mystery.

What did you loot from the library?

15 thoughts on “Library Loot: September 21-27

  1. You finally got “The Man who died Laughing”. It makes me want to go out and get it too! I love Vish Puri series and hope to read it soon! Enjoy your loot. 😀

  2. Interesting books. I don’t easily fall for dark comedies, but the title sounds really intriguing. I also hope to try China Miéville one day, especially since Ana seems so enthousiastic about him (if I remember correctly).

    Also, re: always a year behind every one else. You are at least a year ahead of me with Skippy Dies.

    1. Oh yes, I remember her enthusiatic post about Kraken 🙂 If I actually get Skippy read this year, but nice to know I’m not the only one who hasn’t read it yet 😉

  3. I haven’t been to the library in over two weeks now! However I am planning to go on my day off Tuesday 🙂

    I too felt like you after reading Wicked and since haven’t braved anymore books by Maguire. Look forward to seeing what you make of Lost.

  4. Wonderful Library Loot, Bina! It is sad that no one had checked out that China Miéville book before. Glad to know that you borrowed it. I have heard some wonderful things about ‘Skippy Dies’. Hope you enjoy reading it. Tarquin Hall’s second book must be as humorous and wonderful as the first one. Enjoy your LIbrary Loot! Happy Reading!

    1. No, I meant it is always checked out, only this time it’s actually checked out by me 🙂 Far as I can tell, everyone loves Mièville’s works. The second Vish Puri book is fun so far and I hope Skippy Dies lives up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

