September in Books

I feel ancient saying this, but why does time have to fly!? I can’t believe it’s October already! This means it’s the last semester ever for me and between freaking out over writing my thesis and looming unemployment we’ll see where that will leave my fun reading.

Here’s what I read in September:

Frenchman’s Creek (Daphne DuMaurier), for Jo’s readalong. My third book by DuMaurier and I’m already looking forward to reading My Cousin Rachel.

Ten Little Herrings (L. C. Tyler) is a super fun cosy crime and an homage and parody of classic mysteries. Hope I’ll manage a quick post about it this week.

I read Strangers (Taichi Yamada) for Bellezza’s Japanese lit challenge which was wonderfully eerie and makes me want to try so much more Japanese literature.

The Case of the Man Who Died Laughing (Tarquin Hall) is the second Vish Puri book, the Indian Poirot. I had as much fun with it as with the first instalment, maybe a bit more as it was more lighthearted. I hope there’ll be more of Vish Puri’s investigations.

Little Hands Clapping (Dan Rhodes) was weird and wonderful, though I do think that most books advertised as strange are much more conventional than they may at first appear.

I still have a pile of books on my nightstand, from my last LL, so that and uni will keep me busy this month. I’m also reading the truly wonderful Sita’s Ramayana, a gift from my amazing friend Vishy.

What is everyone planning on reading this month?

20 thoughts on “September in Books

  1. Wishing you the best in your last semester! I survived my thesis but unemployment has become a reality, which isn’t much fun. I hope things go well for you. As for reading, I’m in the mood for Victorian sensation and other Gothic novels this month. All very October-ish 😛

  2. You have read some wonderful books in September, Bina! I want to read ‘Frenchman’s Creek’ and ‘Strangers’ 🙂 ‘Frenchman’s Creek’ is really pulling me because of its pirate theme and I can’t believe that Daphne du Maurier actually wrote it! Vish Puri’s investigations look like a lot of fun! I should really try the first book in the series sometime. Glad to know that you are liking ‘Sita’s Ramayana’. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

    Wish you all the best for uni! Hope you enjoy your last semester and hope you are able to sneak in some fun stuff with friends in between your hectic work schedule.

    1. Thanks, Vishy! Defnitely read Frenchman’s Creek then, I’m sure you’ll really like it 🙂 The Vish Puri books are lots of fun, and very cosy mysteries.

  3. As always an interesting mix of books in September for you. I shockingly managed to read 6 books last month! Good luck for your last semester, I know how you feel, and it was a scary feeling at the time.

    Next month I plan to read my last book for the Read-A-Myth challenge if I can, will be sad for it to end 😦 plus got a lot of review e-books to get down.

    1. 6 books is great, well done! 🙂 Wow, I really have to get some myth reading done, so happy to hear you enjoyed it!
      It is scary and it doesn’t help that I don’t want to be done at all. Guess I’ll survive somehow 😉

  4. I can’t believe how time fly either. Guess what? I haven’t been able to write a summary or a wrap-up for September! 😦

    All the very best for your last semester Bina! I look forward to read My Cousin Rachel too!

  5. I’ve borrowed Strangers! Let’s see how when I will get about to reading it.

    It’s not just you – I feel that this year has gone by really really fast too! It feels like yesterday when it just Christmas and we were ringing in the new year and now it’s October! Eeeek! Good luck with your thesis. I think I’ve had enough of being a grown up. I’m applying to go back to uni next year but haven’t so much trouble narrowing and defining my thesis! What are you writing on and researching? I think you told me once but I can’t remember 😦

    1. Hope you enjoy Strangers! When you get to it 🙂 Thanks, I wish I could just go on with studying. Have fun going back to uni! I’m writing about gender and madness. At least then freaking out fits with my topic 😉

  6. All the best for your last semester and your thesis – the only advice I can give is either start early or work night and day the week before (I planned the former, ended up doing the latter).
    I plan on lighter reading for October, I want something that can be read and understood when I’m really, really tired.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Kinna! Oh I hate reading slumps, in my case cosy mysteries really help 🙂 Hope you’ll enjoy my September/ your October reads!

  7. Can you believe how fast time is fleeting us! You done good girl for Sept :). Nice to see you back up and writing 🙂

    Night Circus is a giveaway – have to buy my copy for myself soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

