The birthday loot

Can’t say I’ve been reading much lately, at least not books that are non-thesis related. Still, although my friends and family never look very happy when I ask for books for my birthday, they seem to have  resigned themselves to it 😀 Not sure why anyone would consider books not-fun gifts though. Here’s my birthday loot, which I’ve been drooling over for the last few days:

The Herring in the Library by L.C. Tyler is the third Elsie and Ethelred book. Remember how much fun I had reading the last instalment? Well, my friend gave me got me this one so that I wouldn’t miss out on the duo vs the classic locked room mystery.

There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried to Kill her Neighbor’s Baby by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya. I’ve been wanting to try her works for a while now and this collection of stories sounds fantastic. And imagine how fun it is to tell friends that yes, that is the title of a book that I’m interested in and, no that doesn’t mean I’ve gotten weirder during the last year or so (I hope). Reader non-reader communications call for a translator!

The Pluto Files by Neill DeGrasse Tyson. I’m still in mourning for pluto, can you tell? 😉

The Poisoner’s Handbook by Deborah Blum. Crime, the birth of forensic medicine, New York during the Jazz Age- is there anything better?

The Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean. Chemistry madness! I never really got into chemistry in school, we always seemed to do the same stuff over and over again. I only really got interested once I started reading about it on my own. This one sounded interesting as well as entertaining and perfect for those without much background knowledge. Also, how great is that cover?

Never thought this would happen, but I’ve joined everyone in the future and am now the proud owner of an e-reader 😀 Probably my dad got tired of me always borrowing his kindle. I love this version and I’m sure I’ll often use it to read free ebooks in fantastically large fonts but right now it comes in super handy for reading and carrying a ton for articles for my thesis.

Hope everyone is doing great and reading all kinds of fantastic books!

21 thoughts on “The birthday loot

  1. Happy Birthday!!! Congrats on the fantastic loot! I don’t understand people who are averse to books as gifts either. Personally I think they are the only gifts worth giving and receiving, really, other than useful things which is what my family usually does. Also, enjoy the Kindle 🙂

    1. Thanks, Amy! 🙂 Completely agree with you there! Guess non-readers just can’t imagine the awesomeness of bookish presents. The kindle is such fun to play with 😀

  2. I am bookmarking your blog, as I am eager to see what you think of “There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried to Kill her Neighbor’s Baby” by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya.

    I loved the book and then read the earlier stories by same author in Russian – found the change very interesting and am not sure how to spin it.

  3. Happy Birthday! hey congrats you got your own kindle!! Woo Hoo… More reading for you in the future after you complete your thesis that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

