Not a review

Things have been quiet here lately (again!), I’m sorry! It’s just that after analyzing texts all day, I’m just too burned out to do the same, though much less ambitious, academic and coherent, in a blog post. I really love talking about books, I just can’t find the energy for reviews at the moment. Then I thought many of you probably can’t always find the energy to read a lot of long (stretching the definition in my case) reviews, so I’ll just try posting pretty book covers and things along the line of “a great title I was recommended” or “Hey, look what I found in a box outside the uni library”. Hope that’s okay with everyone (feedback, complaints (gently-phrased, thesis-writing is killing what’s left of my nerves) and ideas are very welcome)!

So today it’s “Look what I found in a box outside the uni library”-day. They have a box where they put rejected books that anyone is free to take home. I love that box, there are real gems sometimes. And sometimes unbelievably smelly, dusty and sticky books. But yeah, today’s find was pretty good:

Main Street by Sinclair Lewis

The Assistant by Bernard Malamud

The Bang and The Whimper: Apocalypse and Entropy in American Literature by Zbigniew Lewicki

Also, after freaking out over my thesis outline the last couple of weeks, I’ve decided to reward myself with a quick fun book. And I remembered today that a) I still have a gift voucher from my birthday and b) unbelievably I still haven’t read the new Flavia book, so tomorrow I hope to own this one:

Hope you’re all doing well and what are you reading?

14 thoughts on “Not a review

  1. I think many of us are in the same boat this time of year, Bina, so really…no worries. I also found a copy of Main Street recently, hope to get to it eventually…I’ve been reading Catch-22 for weeks now. I’m really enjoying it, though it’s long and dense. Just haven’t had the proper time to dedicate to it 😦

  2. Interesting how that book is popping u everywhere 😉 I loved Catch-22 though I think it’d be a good idea to reread it now that I know more about the context etc. I hate when there’s no time to really enjoy long and complex books like that, still it’s great that you’re even trying with everything else going on 🙂

  3. Bina,having written a doctoral thesis, I give you all the credit in the world for even TRYING to read anything that isn’t directly related to your work! As soon as I tried to read anything interesting, I fell asleep instead! But I do enjoy your reviews, so I’m happy to see you back!

    The new Flavia is my Christmas present to me too! Have a wonderful holiday!

    1. That’s amazing, Col! I’m only writing a master’s thesis and I’m still freaking out so it’s mostly cosy crime when I do manage to read other books.
      Thanks, happy holidays to you too and enjoy the new Flavia book 🙂

    1. Heh, thanks, are you very relieved it’s over?
      Sometimes there are great books in there, obviously used and not with pretty covers but I’m happy they are not just throwing them out 🙂

  4. It is sad not to hear from you so often now, but I totally understand how your feeling. Short, fun posts sounds like a great idea 🙂

    I’ve been plodding along as always, rounded off both the reading challenges I was taking part in (including Read-A-Myth) so now I’m trying to work my way through some review copies.

    1. Glad you like the idea of short posts, Jessica!

      Well done with completing the challenges! Will have to pop over to your blog and see what all you’ve been reading!

  5. Nice post, Bina! Hope your master’s thesis is going well. Love the discoveries you made in the uni box 🙂 I didn’t know that the phrase ‘Main Street’ was coined by Sinclair Lewis. I thought it was coined by Obama, when he compared ‘Wall Street’ to ‘Main Street’ 🙂 The book looks interesting because of the title – I would like to explore it sometime.

    On a different note, I was thinking of doing a doctoral degree sometime but after reading about your experiences while working on your thesis and reading about how others are coping with the impossible amount of reading material for their theses, I am getting intimidated! Maybe I should just stick to fun reading 🙂

    1. Oh I’d say go for it, Vishy! I may complain all I like but it’s still fun, in a completely masochist kinda way 😀 And a master’s thesis isn’t all that much work compared to a dissertation. I would just dread having to contribute something new to your field and for that you have to know what has been written about your topic, but I’m sure it’s a rewarding process (even if it may at times drive you crazy 😉 ). How’s uni treating you btw?

      Heh, you know so much more than I do about that. I just thought hey a book by Lewis, haven’t read him yet 😀

      1. Thanks for the encouragement, Bina 🙂 I am in two minds – reports from friends and fellow bloggers about the hectic schedule and all this mind-numbing reading still intimidates me. I am not a big fan of academic reading, but I love to read the same stuff for fun 🙂 I will let you know when I decide one way or the other.

        Uni is good 🙂 I am loving studying English literature! I don’t know why I didn’t do it earlier – it is so much fun! I found one thing odd though – because the programme is on English literature, the recommended books / literature are only by English / British authors. There is one paper on American writers. But when it came to the twentieth century, the uni has relaxed the definition of ‘English Literature’ and so has included a Bertolt Brecht play 🙂 And Ibsen’s ‘The Doll’s House’. I was wondering why not go all the way and include books like ‘Madame Bovary’ and ‘War and Peace’ and ‘Crime and Punishment’ and ‘Faust’ because I want to read them too 🙂

        1. Well, maybe you’ll come to love academic reading. It’s so rewarding! 🙂

          Happy to hear you love uni! It does sound very loosely-defined but that might be very fun (but Brecht…hahaha). You can always just take a few classes from the Russian lit department etc for fun (if you find the time that is). I usually take a couple of British studies classes for diversity 😉

  6. It’s tough to split one mind into several and it’s not easy to juggle many things at one go. It’s great to find a box like that but I hope you are well and over with this phase of life and do what you want to do next year! Merry Christmas!

    1. I am kind of looking forward to having more time to read whatever I want to, but I’m also really dreading finishing uni 😦 Still, there should always be time for reading cozies 😉 Merry Christmas, Jo!

Leave a Reply

