Uhm….update?

This is me trying to blog more often (if not necessarily better). I treated myself to the newest Flavia de Luce book, I am half-sick of shadows, and of course read it straight away. I love that Bradley brings out a new book every year but somehow it’s still not enough. Also, I love that series too much to be capable of any criticism other than that it was much too short, which is really a big compliment from me because I usually feel that most books are about 50-100 pages too long.

I used a gift voucher to get the book but as always told myself that since I hadn’t technically spent any money on the Flavia book I was allowed to get myself something else (probably how these vouchers are supposed to work, get these poor bookaholics into the store and then see what piles they end up with at the check-out!). So, I got a dvd because I still have some shelf space for those 😉 Also with the festive season cover of the Flavia book I was in the mood for a Christmas-themed dvd so I got Hogfather. I probably don’t want to know what that says about my sense of humor or Christmas spirit (I watched Home Alone, too, in case that makes it any better).

I adored the movie and that made me wonder why I hadn’t read the discworld books yet and I got a couple from the library. But I’m not always good with fantasy so I don’t know how that’ll go (I got The Colour of Magic, Monstrous Regiment, Unseen Academicals and Equal Rites, I’ve heard that it isn’t much of a problem to read these out of order so let me know which one I should start with to get me hooked!).

At the moment I’m reading Nicola Upson’s Two for Sorrow, that’s her third mystery in the Josephine Tey series. Didn’t enjoy the first one that much but decided to try again, I’ always hopeful 😀 So far I love the true crime Josephine is writing about in the book and which is of course casting long shadows into the present. The murder is definitely not cosy, it’s not cool to describe it partly from the perspective of the dying victim. I wouldn’t consider myself especially sensitive when it comes to explicitly described nastiness but then I wasn’t expecting it in a cosy mystery! The parts before and after are much better though, and if you’ve read Singled Out you can nod knowledgeably in places.

What’s going on with everyone else? And just what do I call these random and pointless posts?

22 thoughts on “Uhm….update?

  1. I absolutely love Home Alone and can’t wait to watch it this year 😀 Also, WHY HAVE I NOT READ THE LAST TWO FLAVIA BOOKS? I feel like… wow. It’s just crazy. Must get on this. Thank you for reminding me again 🙂

  2. Regarding the Discworld series, they’re fantastic, while being probably the least fantasy-like books classified as fantasy The books are split into essentially three different series: Rincewind/Wizards/Unseen University, the Witches, the Guards, and then the stand-alones. Within each discreet series, it is rather helpful to read them in order, but not absolutely necessary. I’ve been reading them chronologically by pub date, and finished Maskerade a few weeks ago. The early books are enjoyable, if a little hit-or-miss. The end-of-the-world creatures coming in from the Dungeon Dimensions gets repetitive. In my view, Pratchett really nailed the series starting with Pyramids (stand-alone). The annotated Pratchett file (http://www.lspace.org/books/apf/index.html) is essentially footnotes for each book, and highlight just how very clever and funny a writer Terry Pratchett is. Enjoy the series, whenever you have a chance to cram them in. They’re quick1-2 afternoon reads and fabulous for escape and decompression. My favorites to date are Men at Arms (guards), Interesting Times (Rincewind/Unseen U) and Maskerade (the Witches).

    1. Thanks so much for the recommendations, Jennifer! I’ve started with Color of Magic which is great fun so far. Have to say from the movies Death is my favorite character, but I also really want to try the witches series 🙂 Thanks for telling me about the different series!

  3. Nice to know that you liked the new Flavia book, Bina. ‘Home Alone’ is wonderful – I watch it quite often, though not necessarily during Christmas. I have read only two books by Terry Pratchett – ‘The Colour of Magic’ and ‘The Light Fantastic’ – and loved both of them. They are intelligent, smart books though they are classified in the fantasy genre. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on ‘The Colour of Magic’ whenever you get around to reading it.

    Happy Reading!

    1. Glad you love the movie, too, and I agree that it’s fun anytime of the year. I’m always worried when it comes to great fantasy that I can’t keep track of all the details that come with good worldbuilding 🙂 But after watching the movie, I’ve now started The Colour of Magic and am really enjoying it. Glad to hear you can recommend it!

  4. Thank you very much for the recommendation to read the Agatha Raisin series, by the way. They make perfect comfort reading. What I found a bit annoying about the second Flavia book (The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag) is the way in which gypsies were described, as if they are part of the ingredients for the “recipe” of a good mystery – put in a dark old house, secret passages and a few gypsies and you have the perfect crime novel?! I do not think so. But even Agatha Christie used that cheap trick now and then.

    1. Glad you like them and now you’ve got a whole new series of cosy crime for when you’re in need of comfort reads!
      I like to think that Bradley didn’t excessively stereotype the gypsy characters in his second Flavia book and that he is more careful about it than Christie was (although there is always room for improvement). Also, so far he only used them in the second book and the other ones are perfect crime novels anyway 🙂 I think he makes use of plenty of typical tropes and motifs and one might even go as far as to say that he subverts them to a point. But rest assured the other Flavia books only feature dark old houses, secret passages and other tropes 😉

  5. I don’t completely agree that order doesn’t matter in Discworld – publication order doesn’t matter, but it’s good to pick the right starting point and respect the order of the “subseries”. This chart is very helpful. Normally I advise readers against starting with the very first novels, The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic – they’re nowhere near as rich and complex as latter books and can give the wrong impression of the series. Of the ones you got, I’d start with Equal Rites. The Witches and Death subseries are my favourites.

    1. Thanks for the link, Ana 🙂 I like Colour of Magic so far but if I can squeeze it in I’ll read Equal Rites next. I loved Death in the movies 😀 I have to say the witches series does sound most promising, hope I’ll like them.

    2. I’ve used that chart to keep track of my progress through the series. It’s a good summation of everything. I think order is just a matter of personal preference. I like publication just because there’s occasional bleed-over of characters or references, almost cameos, in some of the books, and in pub order, I can keep straight on where they all are in their respective series. Plus, it breaks things up so I don’t get burned out on any one series. So long as you’re reading Pratchett, you can’t go wrong however you want to enjoy them. It’s sort of like Blandings Castle books, while there are some developments as a whole in the family, if you read out of order it won’t ruin your enjoyment (although I personally can’t bring myself to read out of order)!

      1. Love the Blandings books so far. I think I’ll try to stick to order for a series in the discworld books whenever I can, hope the library will be nice and let me do that! 🙂

  6. All the Terry Pratchett books I’ve read I’ve really enjoyed, next year I would really like to try reading more. Out of the list of books you’ve got I’ve only read The Colour of Magic which I really liked. I saw a Terry Pratchett reading challenge for next year, I think I might give it a go.

    1. That sounds like a great challenge! Good to hear you enjoyed the colour of magic 🙂 I’ll probably not join any challenges, I’m so horrible and never complete them.

  7. I wasn’t aware that this was a series. I came across the title a few weeks ago and was so pleased that I recognised it from Lady of Shallot (not difficult, though!). Is this YA or adult fic?

    And Happy Holidays to you! 🙂

    1. Well done you! 🙂 Flavia is 11 years old but it’s not a YA novel, at least I don’t think so (I hardly ever the them). Please give them a try, they are wonderful 🙂

      Happy holidays and merry Christmas to you!

Leave a Reply

