Excited for…

Is there anyone who didn’t completely love The Suspicions of Mr Whicher? The bibliography alone had me squealing! I’m freaking out over my thesis (which btw is completely normal for me, it’s my m.o.) and have forbidden myself to check my feed reader, so I’ll just take a wild guess and say everyone else has already posted about this. Still, just to join in: I’m so excited!!!  Mrs. Robinson’s Disgrace will be released June 19 (I’m sure to be unemployed then, so major time for reading, yay 😉 ) and there’s no way this is not going to be completely fantastic!

Also, I know it’s January 16 already but hope you all had a great start into 2012 and have a wonderful new year!

21 thoughts on “Excited for…

  1. Ooooh! Somehow I completely missed the news about this coming out soon! Count me among the excited 😀

    Sigh, I thought my post-thesis unemployment would be excellent for reading too, but I’m too stressed out and anxious about the future and the horrible job market and finances to actually enjoy it much. Must try harder 😛

    Happy New Year to you as well!

    1. I can’t believe I learned about this book before you did! 😀 Hope that cheers you up a bit (the book I mean 🙂 )! Can believe that it’s a tough situation, I hope you find something soon. I know I hate this year already, so not ready to leave uni and be unemployed, but I didn’t want to depress everyone welcoming the new year.

  2. I did a post of what’s coming out this year…. so this is one of them and I’m very excited as well as I enjoyed The Suspicions of Mr Whicher a lot. Coming from someone who reads cosy and try to avoid true crime, I bet you are making an exception here? 🙂

    1. Gotta pop over and look at that post of yours!
      Heh, I’m weird and contrary…love cozies but also Am Psycho…I utterly adore everything gender-related and crime and scholarly research…can’t not love it! 🙂

      1. Heh 😀 Good luck with that, I had to use mark all as read, coulndn’t possibly catch up. After uni I’ll probably have way to much time for blogging though.

  3. Nice to see you back after a long time, Bina 🙂 Thanks for writing about this. Kate Summerscale looks like an awesome writer – writing about one Victorian true mystery after another. Hope your thesis is going well and it is not as stressful as it looks. All the best! Happy New Year to you too 🙂

    1. Thanks, Vishy. It is stressful but I’m not completely freaking out (yet). Just blogging is a bit much right now. Come April I’ll probably post too much 😀
      Have you read Summerscale’s The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher? I adored that one, not just the true crime aspect, which was suspenseful, but mainly all the things I learned about the police force and how and when a detective unit was set up and so many other amazing stuff 🙂

      1. I haven’t read ‘The Suspicions of Mr.Whicher’ but I remember you telling me about it and I did some research at that time and read about the book and about the case on which it is based on. It was definitely fascinating. It is a book that I definitely want to read.

        1. Heh, I was really blown-away by that one 😀 It’s fantastic, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it a lot! There’s also a bbc adaptation of it, which is also quite good.

  4. I’ve been out of the loop but do not know about this book! I loved Suspicions. What a fantastic reconstruction. Hope your year has been going well so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

