Holiday Loot: Or, how you know you’ve bought too many books

It’s when you can’t remember them all! I’m pretty sure I bought about twenty books but I forgot a lot of the titles and can’t check them right now. So here’s what I remember I looted (if my brain decides to catch up there’ll be a follow-up post, until then you could always guess 😉 ):

Death and the Penguin (Anthony Kurkov), The Bloody Chamber (Angela Carter), From Man to Man (Olive Schreiner)

How the Girl Guides Won the War (Janie Hampton), The Bolter (Frances Osborne), The Piccadilly Murder (Anthony Berkeley)

Dupe (Liza Cody), The Windup Girl (Paolo Bacigalupi), The Affair of the Mutilated Mink (James Anderson)

An Instance of the Fingerpost (Ian Pears), Mr Briggs’ Hat (Kate Colquhoun), The Housekeeper and the Professor (Yoko Ogawa)

I’m so excited about all of them but I have to stop reading five pages from every book and then put it down and start another one. Still reading The Windup Girl, and still love it. I just have to plan my reading time a bit better at the moment, I miss my commute, reading on the bike might be a tad too eccentric.

Hope you are all doing well and let me know what you’re reading!

13 thoughts on “Holiday Loot: Or, how you know you’ve bought too many books

  1. Except for The Windup Girl I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these! Do like the look of Death and the Penguin just because I LOVE penguins 😀

    I’m currently trying out having a variety of books on the go; one novel which is Jane Eyre, one non-fiction which is On Writing by Stephen King, and then some poetry which is Shakespeare’s Sonnets.

    1. Heh, love penguins as well! 🙂 Sounds like you’ve got a great mix of books going, Jane Eyre is of course amazing, still have a thing for Shakespeare, and that is the only King book I’ve really been wanting to read. Hope you can recommend it!

  2. Book twins! I also got From Man to Man in that edition not too long ago. I’ve recently finished her Story of an African Farm and this sounds like a great follow up.

    1. Haha, absolutely! I love that you can always spot Virago books in a crowd, and this one was a lucky find. Story sounds great as well, this one will be my first book by Schreiner. Enjoy From Man to Man (doesn’t it sound like it was specifically written for those interested in gender studies?) 🙂

  3. Wow that’s a big haul! I haven’t heard of most of these, but I really want to read The Windup Girl, can’t wait to see your review of it!

    1. The Windup Girl is great even though it’s taking me a while to get through…but then I’ll hopefully have something to say about it 🙂

  4. Wonderful list, Bina! Two of my favourite books are there on your list – ‘An instance of the fingerpost’ and ‘The Housekeeper and the Professor’ 🙂 I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them! ‘An instance of the fingerpost’ had one of my favourite literary devices which I discovered during the course of reading the book. I know you love that literary device too, but I am not going to tell you more about it 🙂 Happy Reading!

    1. Hehe, I think I know which one you mean. Looking forward to them both, I think Fingerpost might be perfect for a long rainy weekend.

Leave a Reply

