Hi there, still alive! Surprise ;)

Happy new year everyone! Hope you all had a good start into the new year and I wish you all a grand time in 2013!

Usually I would now be doing a recap post of the previous reading year but I kind of stopped counting the books I read and disappeared for 3 months without a word, sorry!!!

Last autumn I moved again (this is becoming a bad habit of mine), decided to go back to uni and somehow couldn’t bring myself to write up reviews. Blogging felt increasingly like a chore, which I hated because I love the book blogging community and missed all your wonderful posts. But I think the break did me good, I’m itching to get back into it and share my reading experiences with enthusiastic readers.

New year, fresh start, right? So these books are on my mind right now:

https://i0.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1348769619l/15888.jpg

An Instance of the Fingerpost by Ian Pears

I have this wonderfully used copy, well-read by very hands-on readers and now and then pages come loose, but I love the feel of the book and it makes reading the book even more cosy. I adore detective stories (probably not a secret at this point 😉 ) and have a strange fascination with the history of medicine, so why am I only reading it now? Also, the book comes recommended by Vishy, so it has to be great! I’m about halfway through at the moment.

https://i2.wp.com/www.graphic-novel.info/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/MARZI1_144-195x300.jpg

Marzi by Sylvain Savoia and Marzena Sowa

This is a comic memoir about life in Poland during communism and was lent to me by a friend. I’m very excited about this one as I feel that I have read little about Poland and the drawing style appeals much more to me than I thought from the cover.

I hope everyone had a great reading year in 2012 and I look forward to hear about everyone’s plans for 2013!

 

22 thoughts on “Hi there, still alive! Surprise ;)

  1. Wonderful to see you back, Bina! Can’t wait to read your bookish posts this year. Happy New Year 2013 to you too! Hope you have a wonderful reading year filled with amazing books! ‘An Instance of the Fingerpost’ is awesome! Glad to know that you are liking it. ‘Marzi’ looks like a very interesting book. The cover looks like that of a Manga comic 🙂 The topic of the book is quite fascinating. Will look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Happy reading!

    1. Thanks so much, Vishy! It really is awesome, and quite gruesome in places 😉
      That’s what I though from the cover, too, but I’m glad that the drawing style inside is not manga or a very very soft version thereof. I’m not an expert on that, but i usually dislike the popular manga style, but like this style. Will post pics with the review 🙂

      1. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on ‘Marzi’! Will look forward to seeing the pictures. Nice to see the comments of ‘veterans’ Jo and Iris. I think it is time for Nymeth to make an appearance now 🙂

        1. Ahaha, yes where is Ana? ;D
          Will definitely post picture so that those better informed can perhaps even tell me about the style. And I find it very difficult to read a comic if I don’t enjoy the drawing style.

  2. I love the new layout! (I’m not sure if it’s very new, but it was the first time I saw it). ANd good luck on your resolution to try blogging again this year. I’ve certainly missed reading your post, but I do understand that moving and starting uni again took so much of your time.

    Happy 2013 🙂

    1. Thank you, it’s new-ish 🙂 I felt like a change and then promptly disappeared from blogging…but I missed the community and hope I’ll do better this year.

  3. Hey Bina,
    welcome back to the blogging world! I really missed your reviews. Let’s see how soon I can get my hands on your copy of the “Fingerpost”.;)

    1. Thank you! And I’m sorry it took me so long to comment on your last post! Hehe, fingers crossed, but I think you’ll get it around the end of the month. Oh and don’t mind the loose pages 😉

  4. Happy new year Bina, and welcome back 🙂 I can relate to being fed up with blogging for a while. Hope you are doing okay and are settled in in your new place and that your studies (what exactly?) are going well for you.

    If Vishy recommends that book, it has to be a good read. And the graphic novel on Poland sounds interesting too!

    1. Oh thank you! 🙂 I’m settled now and loving my studies (Gender Studies MA this time). I will at some point have to actually start earning money though, oh well 😉

      Fingerpost is great, sometimes gruesome, but Vishy knows what’s good 🙂 Marzi is up next.

  5. Lovely to see you back, Bina, and I look forward to more posts from you in 2013! I’m more into cosy mysteries, so I’ll give ‘Fingerpost’ a miss! The cover of Marzi reminds of of Judith Kerr’s book, ‘When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit’! I might give that one a try! 🙂

    1. Hi Penny, thanks for returning! :)The Kerr book sounds interesting have to put it on my list. And of course, now I’m intrigued how they might compare. I love cozies, but the harder mysteries, too, as long as the styles aren’t too mixed 🙂 But rest assured, I’ll read plenty of cozies this year!

    1. Thanks, Jackie! So far it’s looking like Japanese lit in January, but tons of mysteries will be read this year, too, of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

