Resolutions?

Bild

image via

 

Happy 2014 everyone! Hope you all had a wonderful start into the new year and I wish you an amazing new year!

I don’t usually have resolutions ready for the new year, but it’s come up so often in conversations and on facebook this week, so I started thinking about how I wanted to get back into blogging (which coincided with the end of the year so…resolution?) and bookish resolutions are more fun anyway. So here I am giving it a shot:

1.) Read 1 book per week

I’ve always read a decent amount of books, but it’s been harder last year to find reading time or concentrate when I did take the time for reading. And most books I read were textbooks, so this brings me to resolution number…

2.) Make at least half of these books non-fiction and unrelated to academic work

This used to be easy, but I’m hopeful that this is simply a case of getting back in the saddle. And I do love lists (obviously), which is why I already had a fun morning choosing possible reads for this month, while everyone else was sleeping off the hangover heh.

3.) And as for blogging, I want to try to post at least one post per week.

Because I’ve quite missed it and all you wonderful bookish people! But I want to try to keep it fun and not a chore, so it’s probably going to be a lot of short reviews and thoughts more often than in-depth reviews, because I spent most of my day analyzing stuff and trying to sound smart.

See, this post will likely set the tone for my blogging style this year. But there’s no book cover yet (sacrilege!), so here’s what I just started reading:

https://ifyoucanreadthis.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/1d186-pic1.jpg

What are your resolutions for 2014 if you have any, and what is your first read of the year?

14 thoughts on “Resolutions?

  1. Happy New Year, Bina! Hope you have a wonderful reading year with lots of beautiful reading moments!

    Wonderful resolutions! Looking forward to reading your bookish posts this year. Short reviews and thoughts are wonderful. Loved that Calvin & Hobbes dialogue 🙂 Hope you enjoying reading the Jane Bowles book. I read about her sometime back and she seems to have lived a fascinating life, though it was hard at times. I will look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Happy reading!

    1. Thanks, Vishy. I hope it’ll work out with blogging this year if I try to keep it pressure-free. The Bowles book is fascinating, I like it so far, so I hope I can recommend it. I read that too about her in the intro, but she’s a new-to-me author.

      1. Wonderful to know that you are liking the Jane Bowles book, Bina. Happy reading! I will look forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

  2. Great resolutions, Bina! I hope you get back into blogging, I’ve missed reading your reviews!
    My bookish resolutions, apart for the number of books I want to read, is to try and write thoughts about the books I read.
    Happy new year!

    1. Thanks lu! And a happy new year. Good luck with your resolutions, how many books do you plan on reading? Hope you put your thoughts up online, would love to read them 🙂

      1. I’ve just replied to you on goodreads. 🙂 I plan to read 36.

        Thank you, Bina! I actually thought of this resolution as a first step before considering the idea of a new blog. Also, I want to be a better blog reader and leave comments more often.

        1. Heh yes I only went to goodreads after replying here…social media problem 🙂 I hope you have fun noting down your thoughts so you start blogging! I do love comments 🙂

  3. I’ve missed blogging too. I try to blog more but I find I’m not all too motivated these days. I do lurk though :-p . I miss the blogging community and all the great recommendations that come through.

    Good list of resolutions. I read heaps of non-fic last year and it’s something I don’t usually read.

    1. Happy 2014! 🙂 Heh thanks for un-lurking to comment! Hope you’ll still be around the blogosphere and maybe some just for fun blogging, I missed your posts.

  4. Welcome back Bina. 🙂 I’m still reading but can’t find time to blog anymore. Maybe one of these days. I do miss blogging a little but I look forward to read your thoughts about Life after Life, because I love it!

Leave a Reply

