*Waves* Still alive…

ImageWhoops…so it’s been some time. How’re you all doing, what are you reading, let me know!! I’m drowning in secondary literature and miss my prose reading days 😦 But I took two days off for the bank holiday and finally read the newest Flavia de Luce book (so good!) and also Nightingale Wood (also quite good, but I’m still devoted to Cold Comfort Farm, sorry).

I’m posting now because I found gift voucher for 20 euros while cleaning my desk and can’t decide what book to splurge for. I kinda realized that I have no idea what’s going on in the book world and what everyone is reading. I’d really love something adventure-y/mystery-ish/comfort read, maybe that’s badly phrased, but just something not depressing, a interesting world where I can spend my weekend in. Any recommendations? Plz?

Hope everyone’s enjoying the ‘lazy’ summer days 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “*Waves* Still alive…

  1. Hey! *waves back* Wonderful to see you 🙂 OH, the joy of reading prose in between text books! I am very curious about Nightingale Wood myself, it’s been on my list for years. I'[m glad to hear you liked it, even if you liked Cold Comfort Farm better. I’m afraid I’m no good with recommending everyone, I feel completely behind in the literary world lately..

    1. Thanks, Iris! Glad to see you’re is still about as well 🙂 I missed so much of what is being published in fiction as well, love textbooks but they really are such work most of the time. Hope you get to read Nightingale Wood, would love to hear your thoughts on it. It read like an ironic Cinderella tale to me 🙂

  2. Hi, Bina! *waves back* Lovely to see you again! I haven’t posted on my blog for nearly a year, but am planning another post, now that this year’s study is over! Possibly as an antidote to all the antics of the Greek and Roman gods (I was studying Myth in the Greek and Roman Worlds) I’ve been rereading old favourites and am, at the moment, enjoying the Inspector Thanet mysteries by Dorothy Simpson. Traditional, cosy murder mysteries, which should really be read in order because of the developments in the lives of Thanet, his family and his sidekick. I have them all in the omnibus editions, three books to a volume.

    1. Great to see you’re happily reading, Penny! Sounds like fascinating studying even if it does keep one from blogging and reading lots of novels!
      The Thanet mysteries sound super cozy, hope you have fun relaxing with them! I found a very used copy of the first book and look forward to reading it.
      Hope we get to hear from you soon 🙂

  3. Welcome back, Bina 🙂 Hope we can see you more frequently in these parts 🙂 Glad to know that you got to read the latest Flavia de Luce book and ‘Nightingale Wood’. I just finished reading Angela Carter’s ‘The Magic Toyshop’. I think I first discovered this book when you reviewed it years back 🙂 I will look forward to finding out which book you decide to buy.

    1. Thanks, Vishy! I will try, maybe it’s only a matter of making blogging part of the routine…I should still manage one novel a week even with all the textbooks and maybe I’ll squeeze out a few words about it on here.
      Loved your review, Vishy! Isn’t Angela Carter wonderfully weird?
      I ordered The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry and the first Inspector Thanet mystery for czoy Sunday reading 🙂

      1. Hope you are able to find time in your schedule for blogging. Nice to know that you liked my Angela Carter book review. ‘Wonderfully weird’ – I think that is the perfect way of describing Angela Carter 🙂 The books you have ordered sound so interesting. Hope you enjoy them. Happy reading!

    1. Great to hear from you as well! 🙂 Oh I understand that situation! Hope the course work is exciting at least and you get to celebrate by binge reading afterwards 🙂

Leave a Reply

