Halloween Reads

Well, here I am again, crawling out of my blogless hidey-hole in abject shame! New books and ebooks (still somehow not real books to me) keep stacking up (well not quite sure what ebooks do…queueing?), but I find that I’m reading less and less fiction and more and more textbooks and feminist newsblogs etc. I’m still missing my commute, cause that was sacred reading time and I have yet to meet a fellow bookwork here in real life. I thought I’d start up writing a few lines about my reads again, even if it’s just for myself, to get back into things. So Im very optimistically going to set a goal of 2 books a month (3-years-ago- me would have been horribly embarrassed), I hear you all laughing! 🙂

Since I finally have a free weekend and am feeling particularly anti-social, I grabbed a couple of seasonal books and decided to lock myself in and enjoy a weekend reading. So here’s what’s on my Halloween reading pile:

christieNo Halloween without a reread of Agatha Christie’s Hallowe’en Party, possibly followed by the tv adaptation, because Mrs. Oliver is one of my favorite characters in the Poirot mysteries.

MissPeregrineCoverYes, I am in fact the last person on the planet to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I thought it was suitably creepy for the occasion and hopefully I’ll enjoy it, since I can then spend the next Halloweens reading the sequels.

jacksonALso a classic, which I have somehow not yet read. I’m not sure why, since I love Shirley Jackson’s books. Perhaps I didn’t want to blow through all her works in one go? Who knows, but this one I am definitely reading this weeked 🙂

Any recommendations on new creepy reads I shouldn’t miss out on? What are you reading this Halloween?

4 thoughts on “Halloween Reads

    1. Thanks, Ana. The Jackson was fantastically creepy though Castle will remain my favorite of her works. And Miss Peregrine was great as well, quite different from what I expected. Hope you had a great Halloween.

  1. Nice to see you back, Bina. Been missing your posts. Both the books look wonderful. Agatha Christie is always a great read while I have heard great things about Shirley Jackson though I haven’t read any of her works. Hope you have fun reading them. Happy reading! And also, hope you are able to find a bookworm friend at work 🙂 I know how important and invaluable that is.

    1. Thank you, Vishy! I really enjoyed my reading weekend and though they sometimes change too much, I can generally really recommend the Poirot adaptations with Suchet as well. Hope you had a great Halloween as well!
      Heh I will just have to make someone a bookworm 🙂

Leave a Reply

