New in: Verso Books

wpid-img_20150212_182216.jpg

I got new books! Completely new ones, with unbroken spines und new book smell! As a sort of post-Christmas gift, at least that’s how I like to think of it, Versobooks had an amazing sale and I couldn’t resist. Also, what better way to spend those gift vouchers, than on these amazing works:

Racecraft: The Soul of Inequality in American Life (Karen E. Fields and Barbara J. Fields)

The Fieldses, a sociologist and a historian respectively, examine the myth of American post-racial society and look at different concepts of race. I’m quite excited about their archive, which includes not just media articles about contemporary forms of segregation and Obama’s campaign, but also scholarly articles. There’s always the danger of invoking race, when discussing racism and race relations even, or perhaps especially, in academia.

Capitalism: A Ghost Story (Arundhati Roy)

Roy tackles India’s economic inquealities, militarism and neoliberal corporate backing. I know Roy is the go to voice in this matter for the West, so if anyone has recommendations for other writers on this issues, let me know. But her work seems to be one central in the debate on capitalism, not just in India. I’m hoping for lots of context and connections to global capitalism.

Beyond Black and White: Transforming African American Politics (Manning Marable)

A key work and I can’t believe I still haven’t read it. Marable looks at race relations and Black activist and intellectual history. I’m very interested in reading about the focus on third world labor and centering class issues. But I’m ambiguous about the calls to move beyond (the) black/white binary, but fortunately recent debates have done a lot to critique a notion of moving beyond. And this is a new, expanded version so I’m excited to read about more recent developments and of course Marable on the post-racial.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Also, happy (reading) weekend! 🙂

5 thoughts on “New in: Verso Books

  1. Fascinating books, Bina! I love the title – ‘Capitalism : A Ghost Story’ 🙂

    Happy reading! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

