April in Books

It’s been a while since my last Month in Books post, either I wasn’t blogging or I had hardly read anything but articles. April is the first month in a long time that I’ve managed to reach my old monthly minimum of four books and this post is kind of a digital fistpump. Also, wordpress has since added a gallery so yay!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s also been roughly a month since my first real attempt at listening to audiobooks, as mentioned before, my new commute sees me taking the motion sickness inducing bus and audiobooks have been a real highlight. Despite the noise from traffic and the bus drivers singing along to the radio, I was able to follow the story and it actually helped distract me from awful stop-and-go traffic and nausea. Though I did miss my stop once, caught up in all the excitement of Veronica Mars taking on Neptune once more.

So two of my books in April were audiobooks, Before I go to Sleep by S. J. Watson and A Thousand-Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham. Before I go to Sleep is another suspenseful thriller and the narrator worked well for me. I’m sure you’ve all read the book or watched the movie already, but I was a bit distrustful of the hype. It’s been enjoyable enough for a thriller, but don’t expect exciting things on the character development front.

A Thousand-Dollar Tan Line, though strangely enough not written in the first person, gets extra points for being read by Kristen Bell. I think choosing this as an audiobook was the best decision, it was like listening to the show and Bell is amazing at doing all the other characters’ voices. The mystery is great, too, so it should work for those who are not fans of the show (why not???) and it’s set in good old seedy Neptune.

My two literary fiction reads were amazing as well, I’ve blogged about them here Life After Life and here Ink. I’m so glad I discovered Sabrina Vourvoulias, hopefully she’ll write more novels.

 

Hope you all had a great April! What books did you read?

11 thoughts on “April in Books

  1. Very nice post, Bina. 🙂 I loved your story on audiobooks. I still haven’t tried walking while listening to a book. I must do soon. Thank you for inspiring.

    And, I read EB White’s ‘Stuart Little’, ‘The Trumpet of the Swan’, Frances Hodgson Burnett’s ‘The Secret Garden’, and ‘Jurassic Park’ in April. 🙂 My favourite is the second one.

    1. Thank you, Deepika! I do hope audioooks will make walking even more enjoyable for you.

      That’s wonderful, I’ve only read The Secret Garden, but The Trumpet of the Swan sounds really good, too.

  2. So glad that you are back to reading and blogging, Bina 🙂 Been missing your posts. So nice to know that you read four books in April. Congratulations! I have still not read your review of Kate Atkinson’s book. I hope to read it soon, properly, and comment on it. From an initial glance at your review, it looked like you loved it. Looking forward to reading more posts this month. Have a great reading month in May! Happy reading 🙂

    1. Thank you, Vishy! I’m happy I’ve been managing the 1 post a week thing these last weeks.
      I really did like the Atkinson book, I hope you’ll enjoy it as well, if you decide to read it. There’s a sequel/companion book to it coming out soon. Happy reading in May 🙂

      1. Thanks Bina. I am in a reading slump these days and I am hoping to slowly get out of it. So nice to know that there is a sequel to the Kate Atkinson book.

        1. Oh I hope you can overcome the slump quickly. But watching tv shows is fun, too, that often helps me during slumps. Also, comics 🙂

  3. Hi Bina! Lifewordsmith is back from their slumber so I thought I will just drop a note to say hi! Also, I still haven’t tried audiobooks yet. Maybe I should give it a go.

    1. Glad to hear you’re back. Looking forward to new posts on lifewordsmith 🙂
      I really like audiobooks now, maybe you’ll come to enjoy them, too.

Leave a Reply

