RIP: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X

rip10500(gorgeous art by Abigail Larson)

Autumn is here, my favorite time of the year. First time we had under 20°C, I got out my cardigan and curled up on the couch with hot tea and a mystery. Cause autumn is also the perfect season for reading the creepy crawlies. I always end up reading more mysteries, gothic novels and thrillers to compensate for my summer reads, but never quite managed to sign up for the R.I.P. event in time. Well, so I’m a week late, but this year RIP is in its 1oth year (hosted by The Estella Society for a change) and I finally signed up. I’m always reading mysteries as comfort reads anyway, so I’m shooting for Peril the first, that is reading four books.

ripnineperilfirstMaking lists for these challenges is half the fun anyway, but I also know that as soon as I put together a list I will just read whatever else I can get my hands on. Small rebellions ;P Still, this satisfies my list-making obsession and I’m pretty excited about all of these reads so maybe I’ll actually stick to my list:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m about halfway through Rosemary and Rue, the first October Daye novel about a changeling PI. I’m really enjoying it so far, though I prefer my urban fantasy with a bit more humor. I also got started on Cinder, only a couple pages in and I’m already sold on a smart cyborg cinder who’s one hell of a mechanic.

I really liked Susan Hill’s book about books and her ghost stories, so I’m hopeful about The Various Haunts of Men, which is the first one in a detective series. And I got Jemisin’s new book The Fifth Season just in time or RIP, it’s a sign 🙂 And, finally, I saw The Good House on audible and it sounded wonderfully creepy and I’m also happy to see  women of color horror writers getting some attention.

Are you participating in RIP? What creepy reads are on your tbr?

14 thoughts on “RIP: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X

  1. I am participating too, but only decided to do so yesterday. I read The Good House years ago and loved it. I don’t remember it in too much details, but I know it started an Tananarive Due reading/buying frenzy. Hope you enjoy it!

  2. Hope you have fun participating in RIP, Bina. It is a great event and I always love reading bloggers’ posts during this time. The books you have chosen all sound fantastic. Happy reading! Will look forward to hearing your thoughts on them.

  3. Autumn is my favourite season too 🙂 I love getting my boots, cardigans and scarves out again. Then in the evening there is nothing better than a nice cup of tea, and a suitably creepy, gothic and mysterious book.

  4. I’m next on my library’s hold list for the ebook of Jemisin’s new one! Gosh I love her!

    The Good House is really intense. I have mixed feelings about Due; I never love her books quite as much as I want to. And I don’t get along at all with Susan Hill, unfortunately; I’ve read three of her suspense stories now and not been convinced by any of them. But I’m glad you like them, because she has such great premises! And covers! (Sorry I sound a bit like a Debi Downer…)

    1. I can only imagine how long that waiting list is 🙂 Can’t wait to read Jemisin, but I might read it last to savor it!
      No worries, maybe I’ll like enjoy them better and I did love Due’s short story. I find Hill’s stories just creepy enough to still be cozy, but the stage adaptations are really creepy!
      Happy RIP reading 🙂

    1. Thanks! I’ll let you know what I think once I’m done. I only have the ebook, but I could send you the pdf or the mobi file if you download the kindle app and don’t mind reading on your phone 🙂

Leave a Reply

