It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Its Monday BJThe meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Hosted by Book Journey.

It’s Monday and another week has passed too quickly. Despite eyeing the growing pile of word reading more nervously every day, I have been continuing with the fun reads, because it’s fall and R.I.P. X. This week there’s also Diversiverse, and though I have one book set aside for this event specifically, my current reads fit both challenges nicely.

Blog posts

I posted about my September reads in a round-up post last week. Lots of creepy R.I.P. X reads, ’tis the season!

Last Week

Since then, I read Attica Locke’s The Cutting Season over the weekend.

cutting-season

Locke’s works have been on my tbr for quite some time and then I found them available on Scribd and I couldn’t resist any longer. Black Water Rising seems to be the one to start with, but The Cutting Season just beckoned me. Taking place on a former slave plantation turned museum, the book links a murder with the disappearance of a former slave during the 19th century, and it’s one suspenseful thriller while also taking on racism, slavery and forms of labor. Highly recommended!

Currently reading

goodhouse

Following The Cutting Season, I wanted something else that’s creepy and atmospheric, but also takes on race relations, family and place. I found just what I was looking for in my R.I.P. read The Good House by Tananarive Due. I enjoyed her shorter works and wanted to try this more chunkster-like kinda haunted house-but not story. I’m halfway through and the worst is yet to come it seems. Cannot recommend this one before bed 😉

For some bedtime reading and cheering up, I’ve also started the second Tiffany Aching book, A Hat Full of Sky.

A_Hat_Full_of_Sky_Cover

In this one, Tiffany steps out of her body and something um horrible is glad to take over. Can’t go wrong with Tiffany Aching and the wee free men.

Reading Plans

Popoola-Also-by-mail_rbg_web

My copy of Also by Mail should arrive tomorrow and I’ll get right on that for this week is Diversiverse. The book is a comedy-drama by London-based Nigerian-German author, speaker and performer Olumide Popoola. It’s about two Nigerian-German siblings traveling to Nigeria to bury their dead father, fitting in with their Nigerian family and their grief and loss as well as being racialized in Germany.

fifth season

And hopefully some time soon my copy of N.K. Jemisin’s new book The Fifth Season will finally arrive from The Book Depository, it’s been ages!

What is everybody else reading? Have a great week!

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I plan on reading one of Tananarive’s books next – Ghost Summer. The one you mentioned I hadn’t heard of before, so now I’ll have to check it out. Ooh and The Fifth Season by Jemisin is also on my reading list. Have you read anything else by her?

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Tanya! I watched Due’s book trailer for Ghost Stories, so creepy! Hope you’ll enjoy it. The Good House is a bit long, but I’m still loving it, makes for great weekend reading.
      I’ve read The Inheritance trilogy, which I adore. Have you read more by her? I’ve yet to read the Dreamblood books.

  2. Sounds like you’re doing some great reading. I am currently reading Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart and Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson off my Classics Club list. Happy reading 🙂

  3. Yay for Attica Locke! Yesterday I was finishing up a massive nonfiction chunkster, but TODAY (glorious day) I am going to be reading Patrick Ness’s and Rainbow Rowell’s new books. I figured I’d alternate chapters until one of them really grabs me, and then stay up all night finishing both. (Joking.) (Probably.)

Leave a Reply

