Readathon Updates

24hourreadathon

It’s hour 5 in the readathon and I’ve just read through the first 5 Lumberjanes comics. I’m so glad I finally started on them, the hype is absolutely true and there’s a shout-out to basically everything I adore. No 5 has dinosaurs, DINOSAURS!!! I love dinosaurs!

So that makes this pages read: 201. On to my next read, this time some nonfiction:

mixtape

It’s getting dark here now, so I’ve lit some candles and I’ve also made myself an Avocado bagel, yum!

Update: Hour 10

Binti-Nnedi-Okorafor

It’s 11:30 pm over. I’ve had pizza for dinner, yay, and read 25% of I Mix What I Like. Everyone wanting a really radical decolonial text, go grab a copy, it’s fantastic! Since my eyes were a bit tired I switched over to my audiobook version of Binti. Halfway through now, and I love it. I know I’ll read more Okorafor very soon. After that I’ll get some sleep 😀

Update: Hour 12: Books read:

Also by Mail, Lumberjanes 1-5, Binti

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?

I just finished Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (so good) and wanted to get some sleep. But thanks to the party people outside I’ve just started the comic Zombillenium 1. I’ll wait them out and get some sleep then.

2. How many books have you read so far?

Hmm, 3? I read 5 Lumberjane comics, but they’re only 24 pages each, so I’m counting them as one book.

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

Haha…sleeeeep. It’s 2 am over here. We’ll see what I’m in the mood for in the morning.

4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

Hmm a few. But good ones, took care of the cats, spent some quality time with the family and also lots of time on the blogs and instagram. It’s all good.

5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

How utterly normal it is for me to spent the weekend on the couch, reading 😉 The enthusiasm of everyone is fantastic.

Update: Hour 22

11348109_846374625478884_1319054530_n

Last night I read the first Zombillenium, so much fun, and I’m currently in the last pages of Jeff Vandermeer’s Annihilation and this’ll be my last read for readathon. It went by so quickly!

I also participates in the shelfie mini-challenge:

11337189_1638621223056466_641650280_n

Next up will be my wrap-up post, oy!

Also, shout out to my cheerleaders, you’re awesome!!!

14 thoughts on “Readathon Updates

  1. Loooove your header! And….that bagel snack sounds delicious. Keep up the good reading work! Sounds like you are having fun. Isn’t it great to finally check something out you’ve heard good things about and it really is good?

  2. Binti looks like an interesting read. I’ll have to check it out. However, as we approach the halfway poiint, maybe it is time for a quick break, more snacks and then – back to the books!

    Chris – Team Sycamore

  3. Looks like you’re doing great! I just finished Okorafor’s Lagoon last week and can recommend it. I’m not a big sci fi fan, but she made it fun. I do want to read more by her, too. Have a good night.

  4. You’re doing great! This time of night I always need to get up and move to get my energy up. #TeamSycamore
    “Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

  5. Hour 20 – you own this read-a-thon! No book too long, no print too small. Turn those pages! Burn through those books! Finished one? Start another! Hit those books!

    Oh, and treat yourself to something – you’ve earned it!

    Chris – Team Sycamore

    1. Hour 22:
      You’re nearly there! You’re doing great!
      Pizza and Avocado bagel–sounds yummy. Those are great choices for hunkering down with a good book. Hope you finish Annihilation!
      Congratulations!

  6. So proud of you, Bina. This must have been a great, memorable experience, for it was your first time. 🙂 I loved your hourly updates. So awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

