It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingThe meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Since I haven’t really posted since the readathon, I thought it was time for this meme, to get everything up to date!

Last Week

aristotleanddante

I needed to catch up on some sleep after the readathon and since I read a lot during that weekend, last week was of course much slower.  But I read through Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe between dinner and bedtime, it’s one of the best books I read this year, utterly amazing and I’ll definitely try more of Sáenz’ works.

Currently

fifth season

My copy of N.K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season finally arrived last week and so I’ve been reading that, but I love it so much I’m trying not to finish it too quickly since I know I have to wait for the release of the sequel.

I recently finished two audiobooks and so I’ve been browsing audible, wondering what to listen to next. I finally settled on Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.

carry on

Since I haven’t read Fangirl yet, the beginning was a bit “what is going on!?” for me, but at least I’ve read all of Harry Potter, so it wasn’t too bad. I’m really enjoying the sense of humor, the narrator Eun Morton and I adore! Penny! I’ve been listening to it before bed and in the bath and have to force myself to do other stuff in-between.

Reading Plans

My tbr is insane, but some books I want to read in the next few weeks:

walls around us

ann lecke

excluded

And perhaps Bird Box and/or Agatha Christie’s Hallowe’en Party for Halloween. I need to start stacking some creepy Halloween reading.

What have you been reading? Any good Halloween book recommendations?

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have two copies of Aristotle and Dante… One print and one Kindle. I haven’t slotted it into my reading list yet though. Carry On is also on my TBR mountain. I hope to get to that one soon. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  2. No wonder you needed to rest after the reading marathon. I haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell yet but sounds like the audio is great so will keep it in mind.

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Haha, yup it was exciting but also exhausting. The audiobook is wonderful, also my first Rowell, but can already recommend it 🙂

  3. Wonderful books you are reading, Bina! ‘Aristotle and Dante…’ sounds like a wonderful book. I will look for it. I have read only one Rainbow Rowell book – ‘Eleanor and Park’. I loved it! Have you read that? I am reading a book called ‘The Collected Works of A.J.Fikry’ by Gabrielle Zevin now. There is an adorable bookshop and its owner at the centre of the story and each chapter is the name of a famous short story 🙂 Loving it till now!

    1. Aristotle and Dante is brilliant, hope you’ll find a copy! I haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell so far, shame on me, but I will absolutely read her other works after I finish Carry On 🙂
      Oh I have AJ Fikry on my tbr, so glad to hear it’s wonderful, I hope to get to it later this year. Maybe during Christmas holidays!

  4. Yay, Carry On! I am glad you are enjoying it! I liked it a lot, despite not super-loving those parts of Fangirl. (Also, I am rereading Fangirl and it still rocks.)

    Halloween books! I am reading Libba Bray’s book The Diviners, and although I did not intend it for a Halloween book, it’s turning out to be a very nice fit for Halloween.

    1. I’ll have to read Fangirl soon! Also, Rowell’s other stuff, such good comfort reads.
      And now I really can’t wait to find out why you like Agatha so much 🙂

  5. Hi Bina, this is such a lovely list. 🙂 I am going to trying stealing ‘Aristotle…’ in Amazon’s sale again. Your pictures on Instagram enticed me.

    And, I am going to follow your comments here to get some Halloween recommendations. Let me know when you decide, I shall try to join you too. 🙂

    1. Yay, best of luck snatching up a copy on sale! 🙂 So fun, I think I’ll post a Halloween inspiration list tomorrow, maybe something looks good to you.

Leave a Reply

