Scary Stuff: 10 Books to Read on Halloween

Tomorrow is Halloween and I love that it’s on a weekend, so I get lots of guilt-free themed reading time. I have lots of books in mind for Halloween, but also the creepy season in general. Not sure what I will actually read this weekend, but until then, half the fun is in making lists. If you’re still looking for a good Halloween read, let me make a few suggestions:

gilda

1.) For awesome Black lesbian vampire lit try The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez.

17235026

2.) For a great heroine try The Girl with All the Gifts. Nope, no spoilers.

we_have_always_lived_in_the_castle_cover

3.) For atmospheric psychological thriller, try We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

goodhouse

4.) Haunted House meets Southern Gothic: The Good House. Do not read this before bed!

grimm

5.) For classic German horror, try Grimm’s Fairy Tales. Obligatory snack: Lebkuchen.

affinity

6.) For Victorian occultism, try Affinity by Sarah Waters.

zombillenium

7.) For funny horror, try Zombillenium by Arthur de Pins.

halloween party

8.) For the faint-er of heart: Halloween Party, British cozy crime by the Queen of Crime herself.

cavendish home

9.) Already read Coraline? Try Claire Legrand’s The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls next.

herdmans

10.) For Halloween reading with the kids: The Best Worst Halloween Ever. Almost as funny as the Christmas book.

Do you enjoy themed reading? What’s on your Halloween reading list?

Happy Halloween!

10 thoughts on “Scary Stuff: 10 Books to Read on Halloween

  1. I love reading but too scared to read halloween/horror books xD
    Happy halloween
    ______________________________________________________________________
    Hi 🙂
    Please check out my blog http://unsmileys.wordpress.com/ & facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/One-and-the-same/657216377728715?fref=ts if you want 🙂 You can also join me on bloglovin.Thank you so much.It means a lot. And you have a really nice blog 🙂 Best wishes
    Happy blogging.

    1. Happy Halloween! Heh, maybe funny satire suspense etc is more to your liking. But of course there’s enough to read without creepy books 🙂

  2. Wow! This is an awesome post, Bina. I love it. Thank you for writing this. 🙂 I am going to be travelling tomorrow. So, not sure if I will get time to read. But, ‘We Have Always Lived in the Castle’ seems to be my type. I will try acquiring a Kindle edition, and start reading tomorrow night. I am curious to learn what you are going to be reading. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Deepika! Loved your travel photos and I hope you’re enjoying Castle.
      Heh oh yes, the dog mostly appears in the second half of the book, I liked him, so think you’d enjoy it too 🙂
      I only managed to read Agatha Christie’s Halloween Party and The Walls Around Us by Nove Ren Suma.

  3. Wonderful list, Bina! ‘The Gilda Stories’ by Jewelle Gomez – I want to read that! Hard to resist a black lesbian vampire!

    I am not doing much reading this Halloween, but am watching season 2 of ‘Penny Dreadful’. Loving it so far – Eva Green is so wonderful.

    1. There’s finally gonna be an affordable reprint of the Gilda Stories in spring, so looking forward to that 🙂
      Sounds creepy and fun, hope you had a great time! I really liked her performance in that creepy séance scene in season 1!

      1. Yes, that creepy séance scene was wonderful! I also loved the conversations she had with Dorian Gray. So wonderful that there is going to be an affordable reprint of Jewelle Gomez’ book. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

