November is Sci-Fi Month! #RRSciFiMonth

scifimonth

Turns out I do have November reading plans after all! Sci-Fi November is the yearly excuse to completely binge on all things science fiction with official stamp of the internets. This year, Sci-Fi Month is hosted by Rinn @rinn reads and Lisa @Over the Effing Rainbow and let’s you run wild, books, games, tv, comics, it’s all sci-fi all the time.

As always one of my favorite things to do is make a list of books I want to read. Usually what I end up reading is maybe half of what was on my list, but TBRs are more like guidelines anyway! I’m not big on artificial genre distinctions, so maybe some of these are more speculative, fantasy or dystopian. On with it:

fifth season

I’m currently reading this brilliant book, I guess I would put this somewhere along sci-fi/fantasy. The Fifth Season is as wonderful as Jemisin’s Inheritance trilogy, and I’ve been basically reading this one in slowmo, just because I don’t want to finish it. But, I guess I will do it for Sci-Fi Month.

lagoon

I also want to go through Nnedi’s backlist as slowly as possible, she’s become a fast favorite of mine with Binti. But, I’ll just have to read Lagoon for Sci-Fi Month (can you tell I’m making big sacrifices here 😉 ), because Lagos and aliens.

radiance

I’m nearly done with Carry On, so I think Radiance will be my next audiobook. It features a solar system Hollywood, a girl protagonist, and alternate history!

ann lecke

This one was on my November tbr anyway and I don’t wanna fall for the hype, but it does sound so good I cannot resist. Singing spaceship protagonist, gender, cool cultures, evil empire, yay!

Also, I’ve been wanting to watch Advantageous, and it’ll fit nicely with Sci-Fi Month. Here’s the trailer:

Are You a Science Fiction reader? Who Else is Participating in Sci-Fi Month?

16 thoughts on “November is Sci-Fi Month! #RRSciFiMonth

  1. Ooh all books (except the Jemisin since that’s already been read) are on my TBR list. I’m looking forward to your thoughts!
    Hopefully I can join in but I’m traveling quite a bit this month so not sure how the reading will go!
    Oh by the way have you read Nnedi Okorafor’s Zahrah The Windseeker? Thought that was a pretty good book – it’s YA and I’m a bit cautious when it comes to that genre but Zahrah is such a great character!

    1. Yeah travelling makes it a bit more difficult, but there’s no schedule or amount of stuff you have to read or post, so no pressure 🙂
      Oh I really need to read Zahrah, it was on my readathon tbr, but I didn’t get to it. I’m also working on reading more YA, so definitely a good one to read for that goal.

  2. This is so wonderful, Bina! I wish I had time to participate – November is always a busy month for me. I will plan for next year. I was watching an episode of ‘Agents of SHIELD’ yesterday. In that episode, one of the main characters gets transported through a portal to a planet in a different solar system and this planet has two moons and there doesn’t seem to be a sun, and it is mostly desert with desert storms and night all the time and she doesn’t know what to do, and then suddenly she meets a man there, which is unexpected. I loved the episode, and when I watched it, I realized how much I like science fiction and how much I miss reading it. I hope I can get back to it soon. Catherynne Valente’s ‘Radiance’ sounds like a fascinating book. Hope you enjoy reading it. I will look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Happy Sci-Fi month 🙂

    1. No pressure, Vishy. You can still enjoy the post and tweets etc for Sci-Fi Month if you have the time 🙂
      That does sound like a cool episode! I love the darker seasons, but no sun would be too harsh for me. Hope you get to read sci-fic when you have more time 🙂

  3. I love so many science-fiction films and TV shows but I don’t read a great amount of science-fiction, although the books I’ve read I have enjoyed. Good luck and happy reading with this event 🙂

  4. Welcome to Sci-Fi Month, Bina! 😀

    I was sent Lagoon by Hodderscape for the event, and I’m so intrigued by it. They’ve sent me a few other books, so I might keep that one for myself and perhaps try and review it for this month, and use the others as giveaways 🙂

  5. Great list! Sci-Fi is a new-ish genre for me, it’s only been in the last couple of years that I’ve started delving into it. These titles are intriguing – thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks! Hope you’ll find some you like! I’ve always loved dystopian lit and sci-fi to a degree but was rubbish with fantasy, so I’m trying with that as well. I think the key is to find sub-genres (like urban fantasy, if you enjoy crime fiction) and authors that you like and then go from there 🙂

  6. Hey, I thought November was German Literature Month! You know, it would be great to find a Sci-Fi by a German author (I’m sure that’s not too hard but no name comes to mind right now), then I could participate to both events! 🙂
    I’ve heard really good things about Ancillary Justice – looking forward to your review. I read “evil vampire” instead of “evil empire”. You can see where my head’s at.

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Haha, I only knew about German Lit Month before as well 🙂 That would be brilliant, let me know if you find a German sci-fi book you can recommend! I’m rubbish with German lit, I suffered enough old dead white dudes in German school. But I’m always looking for that rare more diverse German book, so I should definitely look at what people are reading for the event.
      I wonder what’s scarier;) Good to hear that about Ancillary Justice, I’m hoping it lives up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

