It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

It’s been a while, the thesis is kicking my ass. Here’s a quick reading update, though I haven’t been reading that much. So it goes. Also, it’s still Sci-Fi Month, yay!

Last Week

lagoon

I finished my second book by Nnedi Okorafor and I loved. Definitely one of my new favorite authors. Lagoon is weird and wonderful, highly recommended!

princeless

I also finally read the first issue of the Princeless comics and let me tell you it’s utter perfection. The princess is a smart and snarky Black girl questioning the role of stereotypical fairy tale princess she’s been cast in. With a dragon protector sidekick she’s off on a quest to save her sisters.

Currently

radiance

I’m listening to the Radiance audiobook and this one was quite hard to get into. I love the content, but the story is told through film trailers, news articles etc and I found it difficult to keep up with the various texts. Also, the chapters are very long, not that great for bedtime. I think I finally got into it, by spending my weekend listening to long chapters uninterrupted while walking around the village and baking and doing the laundry. I’ll definitely want to read this one in book format at some point, Valente’s take on an alternate film history is just too amazing.

ann lecke

I was super excited for Ancillary Justice, but also a bit hesitant to pick it up since the protagonist is basically a space ship and was unsure if I would be able to relate or even find my way through the worldbuilding. But then I just went ahead and the pages are flying by. It’s not at all difficult to get into and the Radch perspective on gender was an added bonus!

Reading Plans

My plans for the next week mostly consist of finishing my current reads for Sci-Fi Month. Probably not next week, but soon, I really want to give these a try:

spillsimmerfalterwither

This one is a story about a man and his dog, a road trip and isolation. I got this one as a gift, and it looks amazing!

jackaby

I’ve been seeing the cover of this one everywhere, so I want to see what the fuss is about. It’s been touted as Doctor Who meets Sherlock, so yeah I’m in!

bi notes

I’ve been following the Facebook page and it’s awesome, so now I want to read more. Bisexuality erasure sucks, and from what I’ve read Eisner is hitting all the issues I’m concerned with, so must-read.

What have you been reading? Anyone reading all the Sci-Fi this month, too?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. ‘Princeless’ sounds wonderful! I want to read that! (And I expected that comment from Ana :)) ‘Spill, Simmer. Falter. Wither’ is a nice title. I want to read that too. Wonderful reading list, Bina.

    1. Haha, we all need Princeless in our lives 🙂 Isn’t the title wonderful? I’m very curious about how it relates to the story. Happy reading!

  2. Good luck with your thesis and still fitting in some good, pleasurable reading time. I do enjoy a bit of sci-fi but my current reading, Kingmaker: Broken Faith by Toby Clements, has taken me into the past.

    1. Thanks, Jessica! Kingmaker sounds really interesting as well! I think I need to explore earlier times at some point too! Happy reading 🙂

  3. Hi Bina, now that’s quite a list. 🙂 Despite your thesis, you have done a lot of reading. And, I am going to order ‘Princeless’ right away. It sounds super interesting.

    I loved ‘Spill Simmer Wither Falter’. It’s profound and unsettling, unlike those awww-inducing doggie-books. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it. 🙂 Happy reading.

  4. Aaaaaaaah I am dying to read Lagoon. Must read Lagoon. I would go out and order it right now except I gave my husband a list of books I would like to randomly pick stuff off for Christmas, and this was on it, and who knows which he will pick so waiting it will be. Anyway.

    That Bi book also looks really good. Your blog is exploding my TBR. But it hurts so good.

    1. Hah right back at ya, your blog is awful for my tbr! Yes Lagoon is a must read, fingers crossed it turns up for Christmas 🙂 The Bi facebook feed is great, so high hopes for the book!

Leave a Reply

