#AMonthofFaves: My Reading Year 2015

amonthoffavessbutton

December means it’s time for Tanya’s #AMonthofFaves over at Girlxoxo and this year the event is co-hosted by Estella’s Revenge and Traveling with T.

It sounds great fun and so I’ve decided to join this year. Between the holidays, prepping for Christmas, family visits and my thesis I was wondering how much blogging I would manage in December. #AMonthofFaves gives you a schedule of daily topics to blog about and while I don’t think I’ll manage a post a day, short posts about favorite books etc seem a great way for me to do some stress-free blogging and look back at at the reading year.

The topic for today, December 1st, is ‘My reading year.’ 2015 has been an interesting year for me, I was reading more or less all year, but was so busy and blogging only irregularly that I read less than usual while at the same time rarely keeping track of what I read in the first half of the year. So I read at least 45 books so far.

The genre I read most from this year: Usually I would say crime, but this year I also read more fantasy/science fiction, a couple of comics and nonfiction. I suppose I read less ‘literary fiction’ than usual, but I don’t regret a thing!

Most read authors: Umm, I think I read at the most 2 books by an author this year. I read most by Noelle Stevenson if I count the Lumberjane comic issues as individual books. Managed two by Ben Aaronovitch and 2 by Nnedi Okorafor (heh but that’s only if I manage to keep from reading all of her others this year).

Ebooks, paperbacks, audio: This year was quite a change in that I joined audible and Scribd for audiobooks and ebooks. I’m really happy I tried both services, they provide me with a much greater choice in reading material than my small library.

The month I read the most and month I read least: I definitely read the most in October, readathon was great for my reading stats! And then I probably read the least during January and June/July because I was swamped with work and sick.

As for my favorite book (a hint): There’s been a few truly amazing books this year. Three come to mind right now and I’ve mentioned them all in blog posts. Can you guess? Let me know in the comments!

Now I want to know about your reading year! How has 2015 been for you so far?

25 thoughts on “#AMonthofFaves: My Reading Year 2015

  1. It’s been a pretty good year for me too! I tried out Scribd earlier in the year but my general inability to read anything on screens kicked in so I cancelled the subscription which I’m still kind of annoyed about! I’ve not managed to get into audiobooks yet either but I really want to. I actually started reading Lumberjanes on Scribd but didn’t finish the first volume which is a shame as I’ve been wanting to read it for ever and ever. I also really want to get to Nimona at some point soon!

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I feel ya, the screen light is the worst. I just love the selection on Scribd so I deal, but Scribd on e-ink would be perfect. It took me ages with audiobooks as well, but I’ve found some great narrators and love them now. I still haven’t read Nimona but it sounds utterly perfect )

  2. I tried Scribd this year too. I ended up cancelling it after they changed their audiobook terms. It wasn’t worth to me after that. Thanks for the visit!

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Yeah I think they lost quite a few people with the audiobook credit system. I have audible anyway so one audiobook more is just a bonus to me 🙂

    1. Yeah probably best to start with audiobooks from the library then, though 1 audiobook a month is not a lot and the credits keep just piling up if you don’t use them. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    1. Super close, it’s definitely in my top 5! But no one else has tried to guess so have some virtual cookies 🙂
      The book is so creepy, there’s something even worse than ghosts in that house.

  3. I’m so glad you’re in for #AMonthofFaves…no matter how many posts you can get to. I am also a Scribd subscriber, and I’ll probably have to put it on hold in 2016. I’m determined to #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks. We’ll see how it shakes out!

    1. Good luck with reading your own books! 🙂 Scribd can definitely distract from reading the books you have already. Luckily I’ve read most of my own books and thanks to a small budget and a crappy library, Scribd works great for me.

  4. Hi Bina. 🙂 You seem to have had a great year. I added a lot of interesting books to my TBR after I met you here. And, I am so looking forward to reading your daily posts.

    By the way, how does one participate in #AMonthofFaves? Is it too late to join now?

    1. Aw Deepika, right back at ya 🙂 Hope you’ll enjoy the posts. Oh it’s very easy, just visit the host blogs I linked at the beginning of the post and you’ll find a schedule at their blogs with topics for each day. Whenever you feel like joining just visit all or one of them and go to their newest MonthofFaves post. Just comment and put the link to your post in the mr linky at the bottom of the post. Hope I didn’t make it sound overly complicated and I look forward to your posts! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Tanya, I’m loving your MonthofFaves! I think we can look forward to ending the year with a bang 😉 So much more satisfying than having your reading sizzling out mid year.

Leave a Reply

