#AMonthofFaves: Books on My Winter Reading List

amonthoffavoritespic

December means it’s time for Tanya’s #AMonthofFaves over at Girlxoxo and this year the event is co-hosted by Estella’s Revenge and Traveling with T.

Today’s topic is our winter reading list, yay for more lists even if it’s doubtful I’ll follow any of them! I’ll be busy writing large chunks of my thesis this winter so let’s see what fun reading I can squeeze in. We’re having freaky mild temperatures over here, so who knows when winter will really start. But these are some of the books that I’ve been gazing at longingly and I would love to read in the next 3 months (all links to goodreads out of the goodness of my heart/ being way too lazy to do summaries myself):

9780756410193_TheBookof_Phoenix_JK.indd

The Book of Phoenix (Who Fears Death 1) by Nnedi Okorafor. I’m sure you’ve noticed how hard I’ve fallen for Okorafor’s writing, so I will definitely be reading more of her works soon. And Nikki’s review of this one made me drool.

uglies

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. I’m the last one to this party, but I somehow got the impression this was teen melodrama without much point to it. I’ve heard many good things since, and found a copy at the library sale, yay!

three body problem

The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu. Awesome sci-fi from China, finally translated. I am intrigued.

sophia

Sophia by Anita Anand. One of the most interesting non-fiction titles I’ve come across recently. The Suffragette movie stirred up all kinds of controversy by pulling the usual no people of color were involved shit. What is new to me is the role of Princess Sophia from India, in exile in Britain she’s exotic guest at all the right parties, but then turns suffragette and calls for revolution.

shadowshaper

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older. More urban fantasy, I know there’s a ton of it, but I feel there’s never enough quality lit. Caribbean mythology and party-crashing by zombies. Also, me trying more of this YA thing.

Print

Hair by Kurt Stenn, will be released in February. A history on the cultural role of hair, I can’t wait! *this is not sarcasm, obv.*

Ashala wolf

The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina. Aboriginal post-apocalyptic lit, I’m in! Apparently, I am now also combining my new excursions into fantasy and YA by finding YA fantasy/sci-fi reads. Well done, me!

dirty river

Dirty River by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha. You may also know her awesome poetry. Queer women of color memoir for the win. Also, much queer anarchopunk love.

baru cormorant

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson. More fantasy! Awesome fantasy about empire with a queer woman of color protagonist. Will even take on the rumored tragic romance for that.

dragon tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. Fine, I will give this a go and probably prove the hype right. On the upside, I waited so long, even my podunk library had acquired this one.

Now you know what I might be reading this winter. What about you? Let me know in the comments!

28 thoughts on “#AMonthofFaves: Books on My Winter Reading List

  1. ‘Dirty River’ sounds fantastic. Let me see if I can acquire a copy too. And, thank you for sharing this interesting list, Bina.

    I am following your foot steps, and considering reading some YA. 🙂

    Also, I haven’t read ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’. Like you suggested the other day, we shall do a read-along. 🙂

    1. YES readalong! I have time until February or anytime after Februrary 🙂
      Yay hope you can find a copy of Dirty River! Heh hope you’ll love YA, I’m glad I gave it another try, there are so many good books under that umbrela term!

  2. I really want to read Shadowshaper too. But I won’t get around to it in the first three months of the year, since I’m doing the TBR Triple Dog Dare Challenge – only reading books I already own from January through March (with the exception of my books for my book group.) I’ll really try to read it after March!

  3. OK so here I have to say that I read Uglies and Dragon Tattoo and didn’t really like them. But Traitor Baru Comorant is also on my tbr list because it sounds awesome!

    1. Aww I hope I’ll at least like them, though this year has been brilliant for books so there’s much competition 🙂
      Yes, very excited for Baru Comorant.

    1. Yes, very excited about Shadowshaper, hope Santa’s noticed 😉 Glad the Three-Body Problem has been translated, I need to read more non_western sci-fi.

  4. My holiday break reading has been absolutely all over the place so far. I thought I was well ensconced in my circus school memoir, but then I took a break to read The Rook, which is a sort of sci-fi thriller situation?, and then I read a few pages of Ron Chernow’s Alexander Hamilton biography and loved it. So I legitimately have no idea what I’ll be reading the rest of this break.

    1. There is a circus school memoir?? That’s brilliant! Haha decisions, decisions! Hope you figure it out. Christmas presents sort of decide my holiday reading. I make big plans and then yay prezzies must read immediately 🙂

Leave a Reply

