Favorite Books I Read in 2015

favorite books 2015

Happy New Year everyone! It’s a brand new year and here I am looking back at 2015. But I can’t do a favorite reads post of a year, when that year isn’t over yet. I might read a favorite in the eleventh hour!

comics faces

I read more comics than usual in 2015 thanks to my Scribd subscription. One of my favorite comics was Princeless by Jeremy Whitley, starring one of my favorite new characters Adrienne and her side-kick dragon.

Another huge hit with everyone everywhere probably was Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson. I adore the diverse and so-well drawn characters, their feminist exclamations and how they encounter everything including dinosaurs! (yes I was that kid)

fave ya

2015 was also the year I made a reluctant attempt at reading some YA literature. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell was snarky, suspenseful and hilarious and Penelope is a new favorite character. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz was beautifully-written and both books had romantic elements that I didn’t even mind so yay, I will continue reading YA this year.

nonfiction faves

I read lots of nonfiction for my thesis in 2015, but since it was mostly excerpts, I didnt count them in. Some of the non-fiction I read for fun was amazing and I wish I could include them in my thesis. I highly recommend Feminism and War if you understand feminism to be intersectional and as implicated in Western imperialism. If you don’t, it’s probably even more important that you read it.

Jared Ball’s I Mix What I Like tackles hip hop and the decolonial possibilities of mix-tapes. He investigates mainstream hip hop’s ties to empire and looks to mix-tapes and such for new ways of antiracist activism.

okorafor fave

As I’m sure you’ve noticed Nnedi Okorafor is a new favorite author of mine. I loved both her novella Binti and her first-contact novel Lagos. Both position women of color and Nigeria as central to science fiction and are wonderfully imaginative.

I also loved Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson. I’ve found myself drawn to urban fantasy and this one adds women of color, post-apocalyptic Toronto.

general faves

Some of my favorite suspenseful reads were the latest Rivers of London book Foxglove Summer. I think this one was one of the best in the series, and I didn’t even balk at the addition of fairies and unicorns!

Another wonderful book was Annihilation, the first in the Southern Reach trilogy. Somehow it was both exciting and slowly paced, very creepy and had an all female explorer team.

One of the most hyped books of 2015, The Girl on the Train really was as good as everyone said. I loved the unlikeable protagonist Rachel and the different perspectives. Also one of my very first audiobooks!

 more faves locke ortiz skin

A lot of my favorite works of 2015 were written by women of color or put women of color at the center of the story. I tried a horror story by Tananarive Due for the first time, never ever read The Good House before bed! I adored everything about The Cutting Season and will try more by Attica Locke this year. Sadly the only novel by Sabrina Vourvoulias so far, I loved the dystopic vision of Ink, so plausible and terrifying is her vision of the future. I rarely read whole books of poetry, but I raced through Amalia Ortiz’ Rant.Chant.Chisme. If you’re looking of powerful Xicana poetry, try this one. Or better yet watch her spoken word performances!

What were your favorite read of 2015? Let me know in the comments!

 

18 thoughts on “Favorite Books I Read in 2015

  1. What a lovely, lovely post, Bina! I haven’t read any of it, but most are in my TBR already. Thanks to you. 🙂 I love your recommendations on feminism. I want to explore that more this year.

    Many thanks for this list again, Bina.

    1. Yay, hope you’ll love the feminist reads! I should make a list…squeeeee 🙂 And maybe you’ll have some recommendations for Indian feminist reads for me 🙂

  2. Great list.

    I think I may be the only person in the universe who wasn’t that into Lumberjanes. It was nice, but it didn’t go beyond nice for me. Ah well.

    That mix tape book sounds wonderful. Onto the list it goes. WOOOT.

    I am reading Carry On right now! Lots of fun.

    1. Yay, hope you’ll enjoy Ball’s book! Carry On is such a fun read/or listen in my case.
      Maybe because you read Nimona first? I adore the Lumberjanes, but got Nimona for Christmas so will be reading that one soon.

  3. What a wonderfully diverse list! Kudos. The Southern Reach trilogy is among my favorite reads. I can’t wait to see what Jeff Vandermeer comes up with next.

    1. Thanks! 🙂 Yay, I’m really looking forward to reading books 2 and 3! I’ve heard good thngs about the anthology he edited with his wife, though of course that’s not really his writing.

  4. I am the same as you – I can’t possibly do my favourites reads for the year before the year ends; as you said you never know what gem might squeeze in at the end. My top 10 reads were posted yesterday 🙂 I couldn’t possibly just pick one or two!

    Looks like you have had a great year of reading. I am particularly interested in reading something by Ben Aaronovitch. I have a copy of Foxglove Summer but would you recommend starting the series from beginning? Or is it okay to dip in and out? I wish you more great reading in 2016 🙂

    1. Haha, yes who can narrow it down to only a handful of favorites!? Will have to pop over for your top 10!
      The Rivers of London is so fun to read and you’re sure to like it, if you enjoy urban fantasy I think. The main character also has a snarky way of phrasing things that makes me laugh a lot. If it’s at all possible I would recomend starting with book 1, since there’s an uber-villian introduced in book one and that’s part of a larger storyline and aso the characters get introduced in the first books, so you might be wondering about that. Happy reading year 🙂

  5. Wonderful list, Bina! I want to read ‘Princeless’ soon 🙂 That is my No.1 ‘TBR’ from your favourites list. I also want to explore Nnedi Okorafor’s works. I remember liking very much your review of ‘Ink’. Amalia Ortiz’ poetry collection sounds so interesting! I will look for it. Thanks for sharing your favourites list.

    1. Yay, happy to add to your tbr! 🙂 Princeless is so wonderful and the.comics make for wonderful gifts for nieces etc. Hope you’ll enjoy Okorafor’s works and Ink. I think you’ll enjoy Ortiz’ poetry 🙂

    1. Aww, maybe you can ILL it? Or do you have access to the college library? I had to buy a copy of course, but then my library never has any of the books I want. Oooh, a TOR novella by Vourvoulias? Have to look that up NOW!

    1. Happy new year Delia! 🙂 Haha it is creepy! I loved the long intro of the book, and then it turns creepy 🙂 Looking forward to your 2015 list!

Leave a Reply

