It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

 

Last Week

I’ve had so much fun getting back into reading for pleasure, I started tons of books and hardly finished any at all. But I finished issues #1 and #2 of the comic Faith, which I enjoyed immensely, I can’t wait to find out what’s gonna happen next.

faith

And I also listened to the audiobook of Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me. I chose the book for a funny, light diversion and it was funny at times and I did enjoy following Kaling’s stories, but I think I would’ve enjoyed the book better had I not listened to large chunks of it at a time. Also, maybe this comedian memoir thing isn’t really for me. But objectively, it’s a good book and I still enjoy her show.

mindy kaling

And I also finally managed to post a review of The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendi Huchu.

 

Currently

Yup, I’m definitely reading too many books right now! But they are all so good, I might just be so excited to have time for fun reading! The first two books are my #weirdathon reads, which you can still sign up for till March 15th by the way!

glennkill

Three Bags Full by Leonie Swann

liminal people

I’m making good progress with both of them and I really like that they fit different moods. Three Bags Full is a cozy mystery and the weirdness of sheep as detectives still amuses me. The Liminal People is a gritty X-Men type of story and things are going down! I’ll definitely read the sequel.

Meanwhile I’ve also started And Coffee Will Make You Black, a coming-of-age tale of young Stevie, who grows up Black during the Civil Rights era. So far the book is in turns moving and hilariously funny, highly recommended!

coffee will make you black

Then, I also started a new audiobook: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jaqueline Woodson. It’s Woodson’s memoir of her growing up between South Carolina and Ohio during the 60s (yup can you see a theme emerging? 🙂 ), written in free verse. Don’t let this scare you off and I definitely recommend listening to the audiobook, narrated by the athor, because it is one of the most gorgeous pieces of writings I’ve ever read/listened to!

brown girl

Reading Plans

Still the same, since I haven’t gotten through my current reads:

dirty river

unnecessary woman

itch planet

What have you been reading? Any special reading plans?

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wonderful Monday reading list, Bina! Nice to know that you are reading ‘Three Bags Full’. I read it for German Literature Month and I loved it. It is one of my favourite cozy mysteries. Hope you enjoy it. I will look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. I didn’t know that ‘Brown Girl Dreaming’ was written in verse! I liked your description of the book already and now I like it even more! I so want to read it! I loved Vikram Seth’s novel-in-verse ‘The Golden Gate’ when I read it. Have you read that? I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on ‘Brown Girl Dreaming’. Happy reading!

    Right now, I am reading a comic featuring Modesty Blaise. She is a kickass heroine who first appeared in British comic strips in the ’60s and luckily there are new Modesty adventures which keep coming. She is really cool.

    1. Yay, great to know you loved Glennkill, too, Vishy! It really is super cozy 🙂 I might read the sequel for GLM! Brown Girl Dreaming is gorgeous, I’m nearly done, but van recommend it whole-heartedly! Oh that sounds brilliant, will have to put The Golden Gate on my tbr, thanks for mentioning it.
      Very intrigued by Modesty Blaise, thanks for the heads-up 🙂 I’ll have to check out the comics!

      1. I didn’t know that Glennkill had a sequel! So awesome! Can’t wait to read it! Thanks for telling me 🙂 I can’t wait to read your thoughts on ‘Brown Girl Dreaming’. Hope you enjoy reading ‘The Golden Gate’. Modesty Blaise is so wonderful. I finished reading one comic and hoping to get started on another one soon. Happy reading 🙂

  2. How many books has Mindy Kaling published??
    I do love her shows, so I’m not sure why haven’t bought any of her books yet!

    I’m loving the Dirty River cover. Can’t wait to tread your review!

    1. Thanks Naz, I already know i’ll love Dirty River! 🙂 I think Kaling’s published two? This is is quite fun, though I think it’s just not my format. I’ll just try reading her other book instead of the audio. I love her show though!

      1. I do like her show as well. Have watched about 2 seasons of it. Though I must admit I found some aspects of it to be problematic…but over all it was funny and when I allowed it to simply be entertainment instead of statement some sort of statement, I had a lot more fun.

  3. I liked Mindy Kaling’s second book better than her first, for some reason. Also, I love Brown Girl Dreaming! So good! I keep meaning to read more of Woodson’s books but haven’t yet.

    1. Oh is this here her first book? I think I’ll give her othe one a chance, maybe not as audio then! Yay, Brown Girl Dreaming is amazing isn’t it? Totally blown away. Yeah Woodson is definitely on my tbr now, hope you get to read more, too, soon 🙂

  4. Your excitement to be reading for fun again comes through loud and clear… and you sound very happy, too. I loved the audio version of Brown Girl Dreaming, and also ended up borrowing a print copy from the library so I could ‘see’ the verse. It was a great reading and listening experience. Not sure if I already mentioned this to you, but the audio version of An Unnecessary Woman is very well done. The reader was just perfectly matched to the character! Have a great week.

    1. Heh, thanks! Having so much fun reading again 🙂 That’s so great that you can compare the written and the audio version! I might have to get the book, too, for rereading later on, it’s so amazing!
      Thanks for mentioning it, I’ll have to check out the audio of An Unnecessary Woman, too, I love a fitting narrator 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  5. The Liminal People looks fantastic!

    I’d probably pick up Faith on the cover alone, and Three Bags Full sounds like something i’d also get a kick out of.

    1. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Both Liminal People and Faith are fantastic, covers rarely lie ;D Three Bags Full is fun and super cozy, definitely something for mystery fans and rainy weekends.

  6. Brown Girl Dreaming just about broke my heart. The scene in which she finally finds a story featuring children she could relate to, and realizes that her stories as an African American child had value, left me in tears. Simple, beautiful, powerful words.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Jane! Yes, I so agree with everything you said! Brown Girl Dreaming is so amazing and I do feel her issues on representation and humanity, too 🙂

  7. So many books, Bina! 🙂 Faith sounds fabulous. Let me see if I lay my hands on it, when I am going to be in the US. I cannot wait to hear your thoughts on An Unnecessary Woman. I hope you will pick it up soon.

    I am currently reading William Trevor’s The Story of Lucy Gault for Cathy’s Reading Ireland Month. That book is beautiful.

    1. Heh, thanks Deepika 🙂 Oooh hope you can get Vol 1 of Faith there! Have a blast in the US 🙂 Heh yes so many books, but I’ll get to An Unnecessary Woman soon.
      I’ve never read a Trevor book, hope you’re enjoying it! I read Anne Enright at some point and remember realy enjoying it. She’s one of the greats of Irish lit scene I think.

Leave a Reply

