5 on my TBR: The Non-Fiction Edition

nonfiction edition

Now, I don’t know about you, but about once a month I like to really throw myself into some non-fiction reading. I don’t really get the either/or standpoints on this, it just depends on my mood and interest at a given moment. Here’s 5 of the top of my tbr that reflect my current interests:

loud

Extremely Loud by Juliette Volcler is a timely contribution which highlights the ways in which sound is can be deployed as a weapon. She not only presents us with a history of sonic warfare but also discusses current versions. Examples are probably known to most of you, not necessarily what is used in military operations but surely if you live in cities, how often subway stations and the like blast music to keep away the homeless or groups of teenagers, prevent them from finding refuge and hanging out respectively.

monsanto

We can no longer get around the fact that our food supply and production has been hijacked by corporations. Marie-Monique Robin’s The World According to Monsanto takes a closer look at one of the largest corporations, Monsanto, presenting findings of a 3 year investigation. She discusses some of the most important issues from GMOs to greenwashing.

blood sugar

I’m also eagerly awaiting the publication of Anthony Ryan Hatch’s Blood Sugar. Hatch examines the intersection of biomedicine and race through the concept of metabolism. Presenting the metabolic syndrome as a from of colorblind scientific racism, this book seems to be another work that highlights the importance of sociological and cultural perspectives on medicine and science.

in sequence

Black Women in Sequence by Deborah Elizabeth Whaley is dedicated to tracing the participation of Black women in comics. I’m always on the lookout for interesting comics beyond the normative and I think this will give me a overview and hopefully add to my tbr. Whaley includes interviews with artists and writers and did you know that “the Butterfly” was the first Black superheroine?

black girl dangerous

I have the biggest crush on Mia McKenzie and her blog Black Girl Dangerous! This book then combines her writings on race, class and queerness and demonstrates the intersectionality of oppressions and thoughts on activism. Her writing is amazing and super accessible, give it a try!

So this is it for my top non-fiction tbr, how about yours! Do you enjoy reading non-fiction? Would you be interested in reading more reviews about non-fiction and academic books? Let me know in the comments!

27 thoughts on “5 on my TBR: The Non-Fiction Edition

  1. Bina, you must write more about non-fiction. These books sound important. I am curious about ‘Extremely Loud’. I knew you have been reading a lot on gender, but never knew you had an eye for other non-fiction too. This is a great start. I look forward to reading your reviews on non-fiction. 🙂 I already told you. But, I am going to say it one more time. I am in awe of your ability to find such amazing books. 🙂

    1. You are too sweet, Deepika!! 🙂 I just love browsing for books, and used to have the uni library nearby. I think with gender one usually finds that it is so interconnected with other issues so I went from there 😀 And I just love social commentary and cultural history. So glad you want to read about non-fiction, I think I will post reviews on books on my tbr! 🙂

  2. Wow, these all look good! I recently finished Missoula and highly recommend it if you haven’t already read it. Also interested in US Supreme Court lately… read Notorious RBG about Ruth Bader Ginsburg and am considering Sisters in Law: How Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg Went to the Supreme Court and Changed the World.

    1. Thanks so much, they all need to go on my tbr! I think I have Notorious RBG as audiobook, glad to hear you can recommend it! Will definitely need to read Missoula!

  3. I enjoy nonfiction and every now and then, I’ll pick one up. It depends on my mood though. I’d really like to read Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty this year, preferably sometime soon.
    Regarding nonfiction and academic books, I tend to read mostly those about literature, mythology, and psychology.

    1. That one sounds interesting! Yeah I’m such a mood reader as well 🙂 Your non-fiction interests sound great, I love reading about lit and mythology,too.

  4. I also love reading non-fiction – I like to always have a mixture of books on the go, so there is always something to dip into no matter my mood. I am currently reading Christian non-fiction Girl Meets Change and I just started a history of Henry IV. Happy non-fiction reading 🙂

    1. Yay always having some nonfiction on the go sounds awesome! I need to read more biographies methinks 🙂 Enjoy Girl meets world and the Henry IV bio!

  5. I’m a huge mood-reader and enjoy both fiction and non-fiction. Thanks for sharing these titles, I haven’t heard of any of them! I look forward to reading your thoughts when and if you write about them.

  6. Love your non-fiction TBR! I should definitely do something like this – non-fiction is something I easily push aside in favour of other things. My favourite non-fiction tends to be science-y or archaeology oriented 🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I just cannot resist these topics but I find lots of areas interesting, it’s terrible for the tbr 😉

  7. Black Women in Sequence sounds fascinating! I am always more drawn to fiction but have indeed read some unforgettable NF. I guess I don’t really read many blogs that write about NF so I would love to read more of your NF posts!

    1. Glad to hear you’d enjoy nonfiction posts sometimes! Heh I do think that’s a good book for you, stumbled on it when I was looking for diverse comics 🙂

  8. The majority of nonfiction I read is science related, but even that I have put aside for fiction over the last few months. It’s been too long since I read a good nonfiction book.
    Thanks for your recommendations! I generally don’t know where to look when it comes to nonfiction. From the list you provided, I’m especially interested in the Monsanto book. The documentaries I’ve seen about GMOs and corporate seed production always point to Monsanto and it’s never in a positive light.

    1. Cool what science books do you usually enjoy? I think it’s because of the easy access of a college library that I started branching out in nonfiction and I stalk the UP catalogues 😀
      Yes Monsanto have their fingers in all the pies! We have stricter policies in the EU, though of course not unproblematic food production, but now we have the TTIP trade agreement with the US looming so I thought I’d read up on one of the most notorious corporations. Hope you get to read this one 🙂

      1. I enjoy reading about cosmology, astrophysics, and books about “big history.” It’s been months since I read, one, though, but I have always found them to be fascinating. I’m obsessed with stars specifically. We are all made of stardust, after all. ❤

  9. Blood Sugar and Extremely Loud sound particularly fascinating. Actually I am maybe going to get Extremely Loud for my mother — she has verrrry sensitive ears and gets easily overwhelmed by excessive noise, so I think she’d be interested.

    I have a ton of nonfiction on my Nook right now waiting to be consumed — I am finally going to read Elizabeth Kolbert’s The Sixth Extinction (yes I AM) and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens. They’ve both been on my list for way too long and THE TIME IS NOW to actually read them. (I’m sure I’m totally persuading you that this is going to happen.)

    1. Stupid send button..
      Both sound really good I’ll have a look. Heh those are basically the same reasons I’m interested in Extremely Loud 😀 It’s my major peeve combined with critical social commentary, yay.

Leave a Reply

