It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

 

Last Week

Time flies! But I did get some reading done, some comics especially since those don’t use up credits on Scribd.

liminal people

I finished The Liminal People for Julianne’s #weirdathon and I’m so glad I gave it a shot, If you’re at all into superpowers/X-Men stories and don’t mind violence noir style, give it a try. I’ll post my review this week,

Princeless 4

I also read through #2-4 of Princeless, one of my favorite finds last year, so now I’ve completed Volume 1. These are adorable, important and fun stories with a Black girl protagonist that poke fun at gender stereotypes in fairy tales. I feel like I need to get a kid cause I want to share these comics so badly 🙂

vegetarian

Also managed to finish one of my 3 or 4 audiobooks, yay me! Not sure yet what to think of The Vegetarian. I wasn’t blown away by parts 2 and 3, they seemed completely different from the first part of the book, which started out great.

genius

Thanks to Jenny and Sharlene for the rec, this one was pretty awesome. I wish I had access to more than #1 though! Genius #1 started with a bang, I hope we’ll get more social commentary with the violence in the following issues, but I really liked the story so far and the protagonist is brilliant.

x-23

I think I’ll probably stay away from comics that are set in the larger Marvel universe, which I’m not familiar with and then have no idea who is who and what is going on. The story of X-23 was intriguing enough but the representation of most female characters was awful, of course the Sinister (ha so much ha) villain runs around in stripper-like underwear. Also, I think those reads combined had too much violence for me for one week.

Got some blogging done: I posted about my challenge reads here and my top 5 nonfiction tbr books here!

Currently

Happy Easter/hopefully free weekend to you! We’re not religious but opportunists of bank holidays and themed cookie parties, so there was lost of food at our house. I also spend way too much time near the chocolate eggs and might have to abstain from sugar for at least a week 😀

I’m still listening to way too many audiobooks, any recommendations how to get through them faster? I end up going to bed earlier and earlier just to get in more listenting time! But I also have a few ebooks on the go:

three body problem

Chinese science fiction? Hell yeah! I’m only 15% in but I already love the context of the cultural revolution and physics. Also thankful that the author obviously didn’t want to alienate (heh) non-science-y people like me.

articulating dinoaurs

And then my current non-fiction book is a new study of the cultural and political history and ramifications of the role of dinosaurs in our society. This is a review copy, but the book will be out soon, in May I think. Obvious reason for reading: DINOSAURS! I just never grew out of that phase 😀

Also, it’s spring and I signed up for Carl’s Once Upon a Time X challenge and for Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon in April! Are you joining us?

once upon a time x

Hope everyone had a good week and a wonderful bank holiday! Are reading anything good at the moment? Let me know in the comments!

 

17 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    1. Heh yes dinosaurs are just always awesome 🙂
      Oh thanks for mentoning comixology. I don’t really have the budget for another subscription but I will check out their ebooks and free issues! 🙂

  1. I couldn’t stop going ‘Awwww’ after I saw the dinosaurs on the cover. 😀

    You know what I read. 😉 I am currently reading Diana Wynne Jones’s ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ for #MarchMagics. I have read just about 40 pages. But, I am sure I will be charmed by this book. Because. DWJ. 🙂

    1. Haha yes I hope they will stick with this cover I love it as well! Oh I loved it, I really hope you’ll love it too. I need to read more DWJ, I was so enchanted by the book 🙂 I think there’s a sort of sequel or sth to the book, or maybe it was an alternative title?

  2. My goodness, you are my hero. I wish I could juggle so many books at once! D:

    The Sci-Fi/Fantasy book club I attend every now and then will be reading The Three Body Problem in April, so I will have to buy it soon and read it if I want to join the discussion. I think I will because I have missed the last 2 meetings. It sounds excellent!

    1. Ahahaha oh thank you, but it is only because I just wanna read all the books 😀 And I had too many audio credits! Ooh such a cool club!! Hope you’ll enjoy the Three Body Problem, it’s very good so far, happy reading 🙂
      That’s awesome! Hope you’re enjoying Faith, let me know! 🙂 We need to compare notes on them soon then! I have#1 of Bitch Planet and will read it in April for the readathon (are you joining us?). I’m relatively new to comics too, but I think you chose some great titles!

      1. I’ve only read Bitch Planet so far, since I could only find issue 2 of Faith at my comic book store and had to order the first.

        They did have the first Volume of Bitch Planet. Since I’m already reading it, I’ll have to join! Where is it hosted?

        1. Readathon is a huge thing twice a year in the book blogging community. You can sign up here:
          http://www.24hourreadathon.com/
          And everything you need to know is explained on the website 🙂

          Yay hope you liked it! Hope you’ll get Faith #1 soon, I have heard that it was very popular and sold out often 🙂

  3. Happy Easter to you! I’m thrilled you liked Genius, and I wish you could get the rest of the five issues. They’re really good, even though the pacing is a bit off. I hope and hope and hope that the authors are able to get another order of issues, because I’d love to see where they want to take this story past the first “season.”

    1. Thanks, Jenny! 🙂 Genious was such an addictive peek into the storyline, I will need to look into buying the first volume, thanks again for recommending it. Hopefully there will be more issues, these comics are what I was looking for!

  4. Wonderful list, Bina! I want to read ‘The Three Body Problem’ – science fiction and cultural revolution, so hard to resist! And that book on dinosaurs – it looks so wonderful!

    Happy reading!

    1. Thanks, Vishy! Oh yes I really think The Three-Body Problem might appeal to you! 🙂 The physics stuff so far is explained well but I think you understand more about it and might enjoy also the larger context and results if the problems explained there 🙂 Haha yes, I never grew out of the dinosaur phase!

Leave a Reply

