It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last Week

Yay, I finally managed to finish some books! I’m feeling much more acomplished as a result 😀 My fiction read was Liu’s The Three-Body Problem, such an intriguing book so I’m glad there’s a sequel. Then I also finished one of my audiobooks, the short but powerful Citizen by Claudia Rankine.

On the blog, I stuck to my three posts a week schedule and I think it’s working out well for me. How often do you blog? And often do you like to see new posts? Last week I posted IMWAYR of course, but also a review of Coffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair and for the first time joined Non-Fiction Friday and posted about three works that examine the body through a  cultural history lens.

In other news, last week I baked more vegan cupcakes for a friend’s birthday party and finally discovered a great vegan quiche recipe. Sadly no photos cause my non-vegan family eats everything!

Currently

The embarrassing juggling of too many books is still ongoing, but there’s a few new ones at least. My current audiobooks are still Issa Rae’s memoir and for the Reading Africa challenge I started We Need New Names. I’m also still reading the two non-fiction books about Monsanto and Dinosaurs in political anthropology. Because obviously that is not enough I started two other books. I think that makes four non-fiction reads currently, yikes! I’ll soon be graduating but it looks like this only exacerbates my interest in non-fiction reading.

With chronic illness you find that lots of doctors aren’t always as much help as you’d expect, this is doubly true for gastroenterology which has now finally taken notice of the gut, prebiotics and bacteria that natural healers have emphasized for ages. Thought I’d learn and laugh at the same time, thus Enders’ book which was a huge success in Germany.

And then posting about non-fiction works about the body reminded me that I really enjoyed two of Gilman’s books and also love the Oxford UP biography of illnesses series. Which is why I started Obesity, which is a quick first overview of the history of obesity as a concept and the different attitudes towards it. At least I’m halfway through both of these.

Soon

I have neglected my Once Upon a Time reading and so I plan to turn to these books soon:

Are you doing this challenge, too. What’s on your reading list?

How have you all been? What have you been reading? Let me know in the comments!

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I am taking part in Once Upon a Time too but I am not currently reading anything for it either. After I finish the classic Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell I am hoping to read The Phoenix and the Carpet by E Nesbit 🙂

    1. Haha at least we still have some time to read for the challenge 🙂
      Yay Gaskell, always reminds me.of the adaptation and the resultung postcard with the ladies drinking tea and the text says “party hard” 🙂

  2. Yum! Vegan cupcakes sound amazing.
    I’m not vegan, but I am vegetarian and try to eat vegan meals every now and then.

    I like to post every other day, so that means sometimes I post 3 times a week and sometimes 4. It works out for me and it’s definitely less stressful than posting every day.

    Can’t wait to read your thoughts on A Stranger in Olondria. I have seen mixed reviews, but I think I’ll end up loving it. Would like to see if you do as well.

    1. Heh I’m not vegan myself though I eat vegan when I’m on my own. I usually just eat without restrictions when I’m visiting friends or eating out etc, flexitarian I guess it’s called, but I have vegan and glutenfree recipes for friends with food allergies 🙂
      Yes I do not know how you managed posting every day! 3-4 posts is a great schedule, I agree. Leaves time to actually read some books 😀
      Oh I so hope I’ll love the book and be able to recommend it, but I will definitely blog about it!

  3. I have the Issa Rae memoir on my TBR, so I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

    Right now I’m still rereading Middlemarch for Juhi’s readalong. I just finished Fables Vol. 3 last night. It’s till goofy fun.

    I’m probably going to start Maya Angelou’s All Gods Children Need Traveling Shoes ASAP.

    1. Yay hope you’ll enjoy it, hopefully I’ll finish soon and can then write up a review.
      Yay for goofy fun.comics 🙂 Love the sound of the Angelou, sadly I still haven’t read that one yet. Happy reading!

  4. I guess it’s a good problem to have that your food disappears before you can take a picture!

    I am so impressed that that you can juggle so many books! I’m reading one book at a time (at least for the moment!).

    1. Haha yes, no second helpings though 😀
      Heh I’m juggling very badly and keep dropping 🙂 Focusing on one book is great though, hope you’re enjoying your book!

  5. Most of my scifi geek friends have been raving nonstop about The Three Body Problem. I am planning on reading Grace of Kings by Ken Liu first and if I like that I shall try his translation of Cixin Liu’s novel.

    1. Thanks for stopping by! It is a pretty awesome read, and I’m saying this as someone who only just understands the basics of physics. Yay Grace of Kings is on my tbr too, hope you’ll enjoy it 🙂

  6. I read Midnight Robber this week too. I read The Three Body Problem a while back. I liked it but it was so deep into the physics sometimes that it hurt my brain. I never did well in physics. I was a biology major. I like things I can see. 🙂 I don’t know if I could handle the sequel.

    1. Thanka for stopping by! Yay hope you enjoyed Midnight Robber! Heh oh yeah I get the brain hurting. I only barely get the basics of physics and it was tough trying to keep up, thankfully he provided explanations and I had to google some stuff, but no doubt a lot went over my head.
      Haha brain break before the sequel!

    1. Ooh sounds really good! I’ll have to have a look at Burning Down the House then, intriguing title 🙂 Have a good week and happy reading!

    1. Heh oh believe me I do this very badly and it takes me ages to finish a book this way! But the trick is not to read too many similar books or you’ll end up wondering why the main character is suddenly in the London tube instead of of the US midwest 😀 Heh thanks, I think everyone enjoyed them!

  7. I am commenting on your Monday post closer to the next Monday! It has been that kind of week for me. I hope you decide to review ‘Citizen’. I will look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. I have read some wonderful reviews of NoViolet Bulawayo’s book. Hope you enjoy reading it. And ‘A Stranger in Olondria’ – I so want to hear your thoughts on it. Happy reading! I am reading in a distracted way at the moment – read around 50 pages of David Wroblewski’s ‘The Story of Edgar Sawtelle’ (beautiful story about a mute boy and his dogs and his family – has overtones of Shakespeare’s ‘Hamlet’), read a few essays from Italo Calvino’s ‘Why Read the Classics’, read two-thirds of one of my favourite books as a teenager, Alistair Maclean’s ‘HMS Ulysses’. Today I am itching to take out a short story collection and read some of the stories. This kind of reading is not taking me anywhere.

    1. Heh thanks for commenting at all, Vishy, I know things can get super busy 🙂 Oh yes I will review Citizen and try to somehow do it justice, it is amazing! So far We Need New Names is really good!
      Oh these all sound really good! The Sawtelle sounds familiar somehow…it’s also wonderful that you revisit old favorites, I hope you’re still enjoying it and the memory of first reading it! Oh yes this distracted reading of many titles sounds familiar! I have too many on the go at the moment too. Hope you’ll review your reads when you’ve finished them! 🙂 Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

