It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

 

Last Week

It’s been a busy week, I had lots of paperwork stuff on my list and I’m starting to prepare for my defense and oral exam. So you might soon find my reading following some themes not part of a challenge 🙂

I got some baking done and found the perfect mix of glutenfree flour. So yay bread is back on for breakfast (I’m German so bread is life! 🙂 ) and nope I’m not gluten intolerant just have to watch what I eat. It doesn’t look as pretty as normal bread loaves, but it tastes pretty awesome:

12959907_1795147964039739_787855214_n

On the reading front, I managed to finish two books and that means my book juggling is slowly getting more manageable:

Gut was a quick and easy read, despite it being non-fiction. Enders presents a quick informative overview of the gut and its importance to our health in general but also with regard to bacteria influencing mental health. Who knew! It’s written in an accessible style and accompanied by charming illustrations made by the author’s sister.

Brown Girl Dreaming was a tougher read with regard to the subject matter but I absolutely love it. It’s written in verse but I dare say it will appeal to non-poetry people as well. I listend to the audiobook narrated by the author and it was such a cool ‘reading’ experience. Highly recommended!

I also got some blogging done though I dropped the ball on my schedule. Oh well, so many of you were nice enough to drop in anyways! I posted a list of books that make for perfect uninterrupted weekend reading, so if you have a free weekend soon take a look at my post. And then I also recommended lots of novellas for Saturday’s readathon or in case you want to get some quick reading in.

Currently

So this morning I realized my only fiction read was the Issa Rae memoir as audiobook but I only listen to it before bed. That means I can finally get to my Once Upon a Time book list and it’s about time as I’ve only read 1 out of 5! I started with Somatar’s book and so far I’m really enjoying it.

olondria

Soon

So soon, in fact next Saturday: It’s readathon time, yay!

readathon

Hope lots of you are joining in, it’s such a fun event! You can still sign up here.

Also, I will soon (probably in May) start with my uni reading and one of my topics is Chicana lit. So anyone wanting to drop some recommendations or join me in my prep reading, let me know in the comments. I fear I’ll have to stick to the classics but we’ll see.

Hope you’re all having a great start to the week! We actually had a nice sunny but not too warm day over here and I spent some time reading in the garden. What are you all reading?

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Haha! You would fit in well with my family. We love bread too.
    I’ll be reading a bunch of things this week for Authorathon, a new readathon, but today I plan to start with Eon by Alison Goodman.

  2. I’ve heard so many amazing things about Brown Girl Dreaming. It seems like to the audio book is one of the best ways to experience this book. I really should give audio books another chance…

    Oh! I hope you consider Moths and Other Stories for your China Lit reading. It’s an incredible work of fiction.

    Good luck on your oral exam!
    And thank you for posting my Diversity Is Not a Trend post on “Global Diversity Collaborative” 😀

    1. Oh I don’t think that was me, at least I haven’t heard of that site. But yay if you’re on there I’ll have to check it out!
      I hope you’ll give the audio a try, it’s beautifully narrated by the author!
      Thank.you!! Moths sounds great, definitely one for my tbr. My emphasis is Chicana lit though, but I’m sure you have tons of suggestions for that one too 🙂

      1. Hmm. I saw the website as a “referrer” in my stats, clicked it, and then saw your little Bina icon. Hmm, strange.

        It’s great you’re focusing on Chicana Lit. Helena Maria Viramontes is A Chicana and writes about Mexican and Chicana women. Anyway, you’ll have to show me your reading list sometime!

  3. I loved Brown Girl Dreaming, too. The audio version was amazing and I ended up borrowing a print copy from the library so I could see the free verse… glad I did. I’m with you on the bread – can’t live without it!

  4. Mmmmm bread! I’ve been thinking about getting a bread maker, is that what you used to make yours?
    Also, really curious to read your review of A Stranger in Olondria. Happy reading!

    1. I don’t have a bread maker, so I just use the oven and knead the dough. Usually glutenfree dough is no-knead anyway and it just goes in the oven 🙂
      Will definitely post a review once I’m done!

  5. Fresh bread is the best.

    I’m not sure I’d realised that Brown Girl Dreaming was in verse. Sounds interesting.

    I loved your novella post and have it bookmarked for later. I’m a bit worried about how much my wish list might grow!

    I’ll definitely be taking part in the readathon this weekend. I’ve set some books aside, but I’m still not sure what I feel like reading yet.

    I hope the lovely weather continues for you!

    1. It really is, it’s one of the things that gets me out of bed eventually 😀
      I had no idea either cause of the audiobook but I read this somewhere so I do want to reread t and see how the verse form works.
      Yay glad you liked it (too much :D). I do think the book blogging community is just in it to add to each others’ tbrs 😉
      Wonderful, I’ll be sure to follow your progress and can’t wait to see your readathon stack 🙂 Happy reading!

  6. Well done on the homemade, gluten-free bread 🙂 I have really been enjoying, and close to finishing, The Martian by Andy Weir and a history of Henry IV. While after finishing Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, I started reading fantasy classic The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit.

    Happy Once Upon a Time reading this week 🙂

    1. Thanks, Jessica 🙂 Oh yay what an awesome title, now I wonder how the phoenix and the carpet relate to one another! Happy reading!

  7. Oo, good luck on defense prep! I know you will crush it.

    I have tried twice to read A Stranger in Olondria and sadly haven’t gotten anywhere with it. It might just be a scootch too slow-paced for me? Did you think it picked up after the beginning?

    1. Aww thanks so much, I hope it won’t crush me 😉 Well I’m not that far into the book yet but I can see why this might be considered slow. But I do enjoy the detailed and beautiful prose so far so I don’t mind yet. But I will keep you updated! 🙂

  8. Oooh that bread looks good! 😀 Absolutely envious of your culinary skills, baking a bread from scratch is not something I could do at all, haha. Brown girl dreaming’s on my TBR but I never knew it was in verse! Most of the verse novels I read were Ellen Hopkins’s which I adored so I’m glad to hear this. *bumps book up wishlist*

    Bacteria has an impact on mental health?! Woah the things you learn. Perhaps, it’s also linked to the fact that we are often told that what we eat affects our state of mind too?I’ve never read non-fiction health related books (probably cause I’m the absolute worst at being healthy!) and I veer towards business related non-fiction.

    Ahhh audio books! I’m constantly in awe of people who can listen to audio books. How do you guys not get distracted?? TELL ME YOUR MAGIC WAYSSSS, BINA. Good luck on your exams, girl! 🙂

    P.S. – What are you currently studying?

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by, Nuzaifa! Heh I’ve been trying the bread baking thing for over a year now so finally it’s tasty 🙂
      I actually didin’t know about the verse thing either since I listened to the audio, I found out about it by chance, so now i need to reread it. Have to look up Ellen Hopkins now 🙂
      Fascinating right? The gut is only now really coming to the forefront of medical research. Yeah definitely old sayings show that common people actually pegged that relationship right! Haha I think two types of people read this book: the ones who have illnesses of the gut or just readers of bestsellers or health related non-fiction. Maybe I need to try business non-fiction 😀
      Oh I’m still learning listening to audiobooks, I only started a year ago cause I get car-sick on the bus and the drive was 2x 4 hours 🙂 I really only manage it on the bus/train, on walks or before bed because otherwise I have no idea what to do that doesn’t distract me from listening. Perhaps trya free audiobook or sample before bed and see if that works for you , good luck 🙂
      Aww thanks so much! I’m finishing my Gender Studies MA.

  9. I am still thinking of your vegan cakes and drooling like Boo. 😀 I love Gut’s cover. And Brown Girl Dreaming has been in my radar for a while. I must try soon. And, uni work starts again? 😦 You are working hard already. 🙂

Leave a Reply

