It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last Week

Readathon! I had a blast following everyone’s progress on instagram, I guess I do have a preferred social media app. Pretty happy with the books I managed to read, even if I slept a solid 7 hours and spent 3 more cooking and cleaning the kitchen. Maybe I’ll lock myself in next time, but the quiche was definitely worth it and this time I managed to get a picture:

12917846_222142214828640_2051783329_n

Here’s my readathon wrap-up picture.

12976243_224105191313697_381913360_n

My faves in order:

Nimona – so much love for this perfect comic

Ghost Summer – I read the novella and it was wonderfully creepy and atmospheric

Bitch Planet – such an amazing feminist comic! Bit violent for my taste, but fits the subject

Every Heart a Doorway – such wonderful imagination, loved the imagery and asexual mc

Uglies – super readable and love the discussion of beauty and norms, not sure I’ll read the sequel though

Currently

I’m making my way through the rest of the short stories in Due’s collection. She’s made me a fan of the Southern gothic.

ghost summer

I’m also read Paper Girls Vol.1, whoa the colors are amazing!

paper gilrs

And then i need to get through all my non-fiction reads, so this week I want to concentrate on this one, cause dinosaurs 🙂

articulating dinoaurs

Soon

Deepika’s readalong of RK Narayan starts next Sunday, so there’s still time to join in on the fun!

malgudi days

And then I’ll also start making my reading list for my oral exam, so be prepared for Chican@ lit!

What are you all reading? Let me know in the comments!

26 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. You sure know how to take a beautiful picture, Bina!
    I totally agree about Uglies. I haven’t read the sequel after 10 years..so probably never.

    My preferred social media app is Twitter, haha. I do like Instagram, but Twitter is my spirit social media app. It also gets me the most blog traffic, so I’m partial. Instagram has gotten me zero traffic…

    I’m so excited to start the RK Narayan readalong. We’re going to be reading the same book, so that’s fun. 🙂

    1. Awww thanks! It’s mostly me standing on a.chair with my phone.camera, I’m too short 😀
      Heh oh well good to hear you have similar thoughts about Uglies! We gave it a shot at least 🙂
      Oh I have no idea about the traffic, not sure whether wordpress.com tells me that. I tend to forget about twitter and find it there isn’t as much discussion as I thought there’d be. And then there’s all the hate some tweets inspire.But perhaps I haven’t got used to it yet. I do like reading your timeline though, it’s like a second news feed!
      Yay then we can compare notes!

  2. Ah, that quiche looks lovely 🙂 Over the weekend I finished reading The Martian by Andy Weir. This week I’ll be continuing to read The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit and the history of Henry IV (I have made good progress into both though). Happy reading!

    1. Wonderful, you’ve made such great progress! I got distracted by readathon and dropped the ball on the Once Upon a Time.reading again, sigh!

  3. It sounds like you got a lot read during the readathon despite the sleeping and cooking! The quiche looks like it was well worth it. Yum.
    Ghost Summer and Every Heart A Doorway both sound good to me!
    It’s just as well I didn’t join the readathon – I got even less reading in this weekend than usual. I did manage to finish Lab Girl, which I would recommend!

    1. LabGirl sounds interesting! Hope you’re enjoying it!
      I love readathon cause I get so much read in one day even if the rest of the month is sometimes not that great. Definitely recommend Ghost Summer and Every Heart a Doorway is a good read as well.

  4. Okay, okay. You’ve convinced me to read Tananarive Due even without being able to get hold of one of her novels. I have Ghost Summer in my library bag as we speak, and I am hopeful that it can maybe reconcile me to the Southern Gothic. (Despite being the southernest of southern girls, I do not have that much love for the literature of my native land.)

    1. Ahhh haha no pressure then, I really hope you’ll enjoy her stories and Due can reconcile you to the Southern Gothic! I do get not loving the lit of one’s home, I basically never read German lit and especially not books set in my area. Fingers crossed you’ll enjoy Due and then maybe I’ll try local lit too 🙂

  5. I love Instagram, but I find the time it takes to shoot and process photos is too long during a readathon. I do love your photo though. That teapot is gorgeous!

    I’m still hoping to get my hands on copies of Nimona and Every Heart A Doorway.

    As for me, I had a wonderful time with the readathon and gave my reading a much needed boost. Not sure how long it will last me, though. I have a review copy of Ian Irvine’s The Summon Stone and am feeling pretty meh about it right now.

  6. So many books, Bina! Yaaay! You are now an expert readathoner! 😀

    I am definitely going to read ‘Ghost Summer’. I have been reading a lot of good reviews about it.

    And, I am a BIG fan of your pictures. Also your teapots. Also your darling cats. 🙂

    I can’t wait to read RKN with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

