It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last Week

Despite readathon the week before, I still got some books read last week. No readathon hangover for me this time, yay!

ghost summer

I finished Tananarive Due’s short story collection Ghost Summer, of which I read the novella included during readathon.I loved almost every story in this and can absolutely recommend it to fans of atmospheric, slow horror and Southern Gothic.

And then I was in the mood for more creepy reading and read Rin Chupeco’s The Girl from the Well. It was pretty creepy though not luckily not enough to give me bad dreams and I don’t think readers of horror will be too scared. Maybe warning for the author not being Japanese.

chupeco

I also managed my typical 3 posts a week and apart from last week’s IMWAYR post, I published a review of the comic Paper Girls and I blogged about food-related non-fiction works.

And then yesterday, I was in the mood for something cozy, so I got out my mom’s Miss Marple book and curled up with freshly-baked scones and ginger-curcuma tea.

13126684_1528941854081889_1306243519_n

Currently

Yesterday was the start of Deepika’s R.K. Narayan readalong and so today I started reading his novel The English Teacher. Really enjoying it so far, thanks so much Deepika!

narayan

I’m also reading Durrow’s The Girl Who Fell from The Sky, which is fascinating so far. Less about being biracial than I’d thought, but I’m still enjoying it a lot.

girl who fell

And I’m juggling some non-fiction reading, still, but dammit this week I will finish at least one of them! I’ve set myself a deadline!

Soon

No major events or plans for me except for preparing for the oral final exam. So my reading next week will probably include these:

 

What was your week like? And what are your plans for this one? Let me know in the comments!

31 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Ah man, curling up with a Christie novel, freshly-baked scones and tea sounds delightful 🙂 I have had a good week, where I’ve finished reading the history of Henry IV and the children’s classic The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit. I am now reading Scottish, historical fiction Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea and hoping to start another children’s classic, The Water-Babies. Happy reading this week 🙂

    1. So delightful and relaxing 🙂 That’s wonderful you are making amazing progress on your Once Upon reading. Turn of the Tide sounds really good. Ooh I read Water Babies ages ago, I remember enjoying it. Happy reading!

  2. Was tempted by the Due collection at the library on Friday but have yet to finish the books I already have out so nope didn’t borrow it. But will remember it for next time!
    Also best of luck for your oral exam!!! 加油! That’s jiayou or “add oil” in Chinese. Kinda like “go for it” or “you can do it”!

    1. Thanks so much, Sharlene! “Add oil” is an.awesome saying 🙂
      Hope you’ll enjoy the Due when you get to it! Haha my reading.pile is way too high too.

  3. LOL–as happy as I am that I finally found your blog, you are doing quite a number on my holds list! I just went and added the Tananarive Due book. I have a couple of her novels on my shelves but haven’t read them yet. Probably should have started there, but well… 😉 I think you have also just ensured that I will be making scones today, though mine never come out looking as pretty as yours do!

    1. Haha oops..? 😉 But you add to my tbr too, if it makes you feel better! 🙂 Have to convince. my library to acquire.that short story collection. Ooh which ones do you have? I really enjoyed her The Good House and am currently rereading The Between. But Ghost Summer has amazing stories, such different ones too 🙂
      Nah all scones are ruggedly handsome! I’m sure yours are lovely!

  4. First, I just have to comment on the beautiful book covers – they’re all lovely!
    Ghost Summer and The Girl Who Fell From the Sky have both been added to my list.
    Good luck on your exam! 🙂

  5. Two horror books in one week? I like the sound of The Girl From The Well. Horror is one of my guilty pleasures in film (when it is done well, which is rare), so I really should be adding more horror to my reading life as well!

    I’m excited to read your thoughts on Castillo and Anzaldua! Keep us updated on your oral exam 🙂

    1. Haha yes somehow the coldish rainy weather put me in horror mood 🙂 Though the Due is Southern Gothic, so it was warm horror 😀
      Oh you brave one! I enjoy satiric or funny horror and psychological, suspenseful thrillers but not outright horror along Saw.
      I thought Due’s The Good House was pretty creepy. It’s a longish book with lots of atmosphere and a haunted house!
      Heh I might review them depending on how the exam.turned out 😉 But Castillo’s memoir is out soon, I really want to read and review that one.

  6. I’m dead pleased with myself because I finished one of the books I’ve had checked out from my university library forevvvvver, AND I read one of the oldest books on my TBR spreadsheet (oldest by time I added it to the spreadsheet, not oldest by publication date). I can only hope to have as good a reading week as I’ve had weekend!

  7. Freshly baked scones with ginger curcuma tea and with Agatha Christie on the side – sounds like heaven to me! ‘The Girl from the Well’ makes me think of the Japanese movie ‘Ring’. Have fun preparing for your oral exam. All the best!

    1. It was heavenly, Vishy! 🙂 I do love this sunny weather which isn’t too hot and makes reading outside wonderful.
      Yes you’re right it’s basically like Ring but then goes in a different direction. Wow that was a creepy film!

  8. Very excited about your upcoming books this week! Castillo and Anzaldúa – what a power-duo! Cannot wait to hear your thoughts. And – you are inspiring me to revisit their work – it’s been too long!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Ioana! Heh I will be busy with Chicana lit for the next two months and will try to post some thoughts, they are ao dense, each read brings new knowledge and helps me grow as a feminist.

Leave a Reply

