It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last Week

It wasn’t my best week of blogging. I had tons of other stuff to do and then with the weather getting warmer, my migraine started coming back stronger. So I apologize for not posting and commenting a lot, I am trying to catch up at the moment and tried leaving some love on twitter! 🙂

This also means I didn’t get too much reading done sadly, I was hoping to make a dent in my pile since I will now shift my focus on to exam reading. But I did manage to finish the two books I had planned for Deepika’s RK Narayan readalong (thanks for hosting!!) and I really enjoyed both of them. I reviewed The English Teacher here and will post a review of Malgudi Days soon. I will definitely be reading more of his works. Which one should I read after these two?

 

Currently

Well, I am reading lots of secondary literature on Chicana feminism and have started rereading La Frontera/ Borderlands, which is always a pleasure and learning experience.

Gloria-Anzaldua-Borderlands-0829-main

Since it’s the long weekend I wanted to read some escapism, but another migraine bout took me out. So I will try today to finish this one today:

17333319

Next week

My plans are pretty much to finish some of the books and audiobooks I started and then discarded, there were too many options 😀 Specifically I want to finish and review this one

articulating dinoaurs

And since I finally, finally got my copy of Kynship by Daniel Heath Justice, I want to read that one. Because I ordered it for Once Upon a Time and that’s been ages. The cover looks uum interesting, I wouldn’t have picked it up from that, but love the sound of some decolonial indigenous fantasy!!

kynship

What have you been reading? Any special reading plans? Let me know in the comments!

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I hope you feel better soon! I have had a rotten cold this weekend but I think I am finally on the mend – it fortunately hasn’t stopped me reading. I finished historical fiction Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea and fantasy novella Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe King. I am also close to finishing The Water-Babies by Charles Kingsley and I am hoping to start Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett.

    1. Oh yay hope you’ve gotten rid of.that cold! You’re reading so many cool.books. Hope.you’ll love the Pratchett, I adore the witches 🙂

  2. I read your review of The English Teacher on goodreads and it sounds like a book I’d enjoy. Burial Rites has been on my kindle for way too long. Need to get to that soon, too…

    1. The English Teacher is wonderful, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! 🙂 Burial Rites was a good read and perfect for reading in 1-2 sittings! Happy reading!

  3. I am so sorry you’ve been struggling with migraines. 😦 They can be so debilitating.

    As for current reads: I’m still reading Middlemarch for the readalong, and almost finished with Margo Jefferson’s Negroland. I’m still not sure how I feel about it.

    1. Thank you! Yeah they tend to take me out 1-2 days each time and this always means no reading 😦
      Oh the Jefferson is on my tbr! Looking forward to reading your thoughts, conflicted or not!

  4. Anzaldua is always a pleasure to read. I’m sure Borderlands is proving to be comforting, familiar, yet continuously enlightening.

    Kynship’s cover looks a little silly, haha, but I do love the sound of decolonial indigenous fantasy! What a neat little book!

    1. It is! 🙂 I love that each reread gives me new insights and I now have more contextual knowledge than when I first attempted it.
      Haha yes that is how I always stayed away from fantasy, these.covers scared me off. Am trying to be less of a snob now 😉 So far it’s really good, so glad I found this series and I’m sure you’ll like it, too.

  5. Oooo, Articulating Dinosaurs looks interesting! Can’t wait to read your review of that one!

    I was reading Bellweather Rhapsody today as it was recommended as a readalike to Fangirl (a book I loved). It was nothing like Fangirl, to me, but I still liked it a lot. I want to reread it now without the expectation that it will be like Fangirl! And next I am going to go back to my colonial Cameroon historical novel, which I remain v. excited about.

    1. It’s so fascinating so far, it’s an obvious case but I never realized I needed dinosaur polit anthropology before! 🙂
      Am.excited about that Cameroon book too now, you keep adding toy tbr!
      Ooh that sound really good. I have Fangirl on my tbr as my next Rowell book, so it’s good to hear there’s more books along those lines. Get the thing about expectations though!

  6. Sorry about your migraines:( I get them too, have one right now actually! Still not sure what causes mine. I’ve read excerpts from Borderlands and I loved what I read, Anzaldua is wonderful. Happy reading 🙂

    1. Oh sorry to hear you suffer from them too! Have one today as well, what is it today..? Hope you feel better soon! I know most of my triggers, hope you’ll find yours too. Have you ever tried magnesium? For some people supplementing now and then helps.
      Yes, Anzaldua is awesome! Every reread I learn more 🙂

  7. Sorry for commenting on your Monday post on Saturday. Wonderful list. I loved your review of ‘The English Teacher’. Looking forward to reading your thoughts on ‘Malgudi Days’ and the dinosaur book. After flitting around a bit reading bits and pieces of different books, I finally started reading Daphne du Maurier’s ‘Rebecca’. It is so beautiful. Can’t wait to continue reading it. Happy reading this weekend. Looking forward to your Monday post.

Leave a Reply

