It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last Week

i am a dbb badgeI support dbb badge

Exciting things were happening last weekend! Perhaps, if you’re on twitter, you noticed w had some great conversations going on under the #DiverseBookBloggers hashtag. It was wonderful to meet so many non-white, queer, non-Western and differently-abled bloggers and talk about what we want out of diversity in blogging and publishing! Check out the complete storify here.

“A conversation between @demelzagriff95 and @_diversebooks resulted in the creation of the #DiverseBookBloggers hashtag. Since May 17, the hashtag has exploded, resulting in more than 1,000 tweets from a wide variety of bloggers and Twitter users. This is just the beginning of the hashtag’s impact.”

I also finished two reads I’d been making my way through quite slowly, I don’t have a long commute at the moment and in my case that means audiobooks take ages.

We Need New Names was such a great read though I would have preferred to read it instead of listening to it, to follow the story better. I read this one for my reading more African lit challenge, though this is my second Zimbabwean novels, I need to branch out.

Obesity.The Biography is my second book from the autobiography of illness series, which is wonderful so far. Gilman’s work is usually amazing, but I would have liked a more in-depth discussion. Might try Gilman’s Fat.A Cultural History though.

anne chebu

My favorite read last week was Anne Chebu’s Anleitung zum Schwarz sein /Instrutions for Being Black, an introduction about racism experienced by Afro-Germans for Afro-Germans and it should be a good learning experience for white Germans. I fall somewhere in the middle and could relate so much, it was wonderful to find such a book for the German context. Sadly there seems to exist no translation, but if you speak German, definitely read this book!

5 on a theme

I also got some blogging done, posting a reading list for International Day Against homophobia and posted another instalment of my 5 On a Theme series, this time on Chicana and Latino/a Speculative Fiction.

Currently

I’m still trying so hard not to get distracted by shiny new books because I’m starting exam prep and will be reading Chicana literature and secondary lit in June. Don’t distract me with awesome blog posts about amazing books! ;D But you’re all welcome to join me in my reading!

What are you all reading? Let me know in the comments!

35 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Well, finally I am commenting on a Monday post on Monday 🙂 I hope they translate Anne Chebu’s book into English. I would love to read that. Gilman’s books look interesting.

    All the best for your exam! Hope you are having fun preparing 🙂

    1. Congrats Vishy! 😀 So nice you had time to comment today but don’t stress about it!
      Oh yes I hate that they don’t translate books like. I will just review books like these until they do 🙂 Thanks so far it’s still fun 🙂

      1. Ha, ha, ha! Thank you, Bina 🙂 It was nice to comment on your post the same day. That is progress, isn’t it? I am happy that I am becoming a better commenter 🙂 Glad to know that your exam preparations are going well. Wish you all the very best!

  2. Added We Need New Names and Obesity to my TBR, and I really hope someone translates Instructions For Being Black soon. Trying not to get distracted by shiny new books is SO HARD! The struggle is real, my friend.

    1. Haha, it is! Still trying to find more…diverse 😉 – books about obesity but the Gilman is an interesting overview esp the concept of it as social panic. WNNN was such a good one, hope you enjoy it. Yes we need books like Chube’s to get more attention then the translations will follow 🙂

  3. We Need New Names was such a strong read. I loved every bit of it, well, except it all seemed to peter off towards the end. But still, the first 3/4ths I just totally loved.

    1. Hi Nish! Yes I agree it started out stronger, but I listened to this for a few weeks and maybe this helped in finding the story not too weak towards the end. I definitely want to read more by her 🙂

    1. This is a wonderful introduction to the Afro-German experience. I also recommend reading this in combination with Noah Sow’s Deutschland Schwarz Weiß.

    1. Yay hope you’ll enjoy it! It explores the concept of obesity as social panic really well but think a longer book would’ve made it vetter. But I think Gilman’s Fat looks promising 🙂

  4. Hi Bina! Oh WOW I had no idea that #diversebookbloggers was such a new tag/conversation! I am not very ‘diverse’ myself in how I identify, but I have so much appreciated being opened to so many perspectives and learning from this amazing community, which feels much closer to my heart as an immigrant than the unquestioning ‘white-US’ status-quo (which was also my book community before blogging, i.e. Goodreads).

    I am fascinated to learn more about racism and all the isms especially as they manifest in other places – I’ve read a bunch on the history and analyses of the US, but almost nothing on the paths ‘diversification’ is taking in Europe. Germany is an especially interesting case, well… considering recent history. Anyways, all that blabbing aside, I am so glad to be reading your blog and THANK YOU!

    1. Anyone who is interested in discussing, reviewing, and promoting the work of people of color is welcome to join the hashtag. The woman who created the hashtag name is white! We need allies and people who care about fair representation of all people in literature. 🙂

    2. Like Naz said, we need allies who promote diverse books and you blog about such great works, Ioana! 🙂 And you also bring such a great perspective into blogging w/ migration!
      Ah Germany, we regularly fail the UN racism test but people still believe there are only right-wing extremists instead of the more subtle and structural racism of neoliberalism and the middle-class. It’s pre-latest wave of refugees, but there is an amazing work on this and of course I can’t remember the title now argh! I will tweet you when I remember 🙂

  5. I have noticed the #diversebookbloggers tag – happy to hear that it’s going so well!
    My own reading is slow-going this week. I love the book I’m reading, but there is so much going on here right now. Mostly good happy things, but not conducive to reading. Hopefully it picks up soon, or all my wonderful library books will have to go back unread!

      1. Naz, this is so wonderful, I wake up only to find you answering comments! I can definitely see the benefits of co-blogging! 😀

    1. Thank you! We’re so excited about it 🙂
      Glad to hear you have happy things going on! Some months are just not as great for reading as others, but I hope you can get your library books renewed!

  6. I love the new look of your blog, Bina! I like how your social media icons are nice and prominent up top. Glad you’re more active on social media 🙂

    It’s good to see you blogging about German books. The only other person I know who speaks German is Josephine from Word Revel. She’s German/Filipino. She must have such a difficult time finding books that discuss and represent her ethnic identity. Oh, and TJ from MyBookStrings (right?)

    Anyway, the Xicana Codex book looks very scholarly and intimidating. I hope June isn’t too rough on you with exam prep.

    1. Heh thanks, onl took me 7 years of blogging to start tweeting! I fiddle around with it every year, think I want to change the header but we’ll see. WP doesn’t allow for too many other changes.
      Yeah I hardly ever read German books or blog about them, I don’t like most of the stuff published but would love to find and read more diverse German literature, which is ssooo difficult!
      It was so great to meet new diverse bloggers and wow some who have very complex exeriences and identities 🙂

  7. Love following the #diversebookbloggers tag! I keep collecting more new bloggers to follow, which I’m sure is going to be overwhelming at some point (infinity book bloggers to read and follow!), but eh, there are worse problems. :p

    Hey, what was the first Zimbabwean novel you encountered? I am reading one now and I really really like it! The Book of Memory, by Petina Gappah?

    1. Glad you’re following the hashtag! Haha I am currently setting up a directory that will make you feedly/reader explode! 😀
      It was The Hairdresser of Harare, have you read it? Oh yes I have heard excellent things about Book of Memory and really want to read it. And I thought i’d end up reading mostly Nigerian lit, ha!

  8. I’m pretty sure We Need New Names is on my Goodreads TBR. If it’s not, I’ll put it there! 🙂

    I just started Paul Beatty’s The Sellout. Oh my goodness! My head is spinning so far. (In a good way.)

    1. Oh yay that one’s on my tbr, too. Sounds like you’re finding it a brilliant read, looking forward to reading your thoughts on it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

