Book Haul: London + #VersoBooks Sale

haul post pic

What’s a vacation without splurging on books? Exactly, that’s why I love city trips and especially the wonderful bookstores and charity shops in London. The only downside of my trip was that I could only take 10kg. I’m pretty sure security had a blast at my bookshelf in a bag, but what can you do. Here’s what I got in London (all links to goodreads):

jane And Prudence

Jane and Prudence by Barbara Pym

This one was dirt cheap in a charity shop, so with my library not carrying any of her books, buying it used was actually the cheapest option. Life is weird!

rupi kaur

Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur

Have loved so many poems by Rupi Kaur, I wanted to take a look at the whole collection.

rosemary and rue

Rosemary & Rue by Seanan McGuire

Also dirt cheap and I enjoyed this one. Now that I’v read more by McGuire I want to go back and see if the reading experience is different.

obelisk gate

The Obelisk Gate by N.K. Jemisin

I just had to get Jemisin’s new book while I had a book budget or I’d have gone green with envy!

depicting the veil

Depicting the Veil by Robin Lee Riley

A bit unsure about this one. It’s written by a white academic feminist, so we’ll see, though I do think it’s an important topic especially for feminists who are white to tackle and work through.

safe house

Safe House edited by Ellah Wakatama Allfrey

This one I had to get cause Whitney made it sound amazing. It’s creative non-fiction by writers from Africa, can’t wait to explore!

3body problem

The Three-Body Problem Cixin Liu, transl. by Ken Liu

Read this one already via Scribd, but it was really good and thought I’d get it for the shelves and a reread.

phoenix

The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor

Wanted to get Who Fears Death but they didn’t have it. Shame on you UK bookstores for not carrying more books by Okorafor.

let the right one in

Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist

Queer horror for creepy season and also maybe a good read for the R.I.P. challenge.

decolonizing methodologies

Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith

This is a book I’ve been eyeing for quite a while and I just couldn’t resist any longer. It’s also a keeper for the library I’m trying to build.

*****

And then Verso Books had a flash sale of their e-books for 90% off, how to resist!? I got some works I’d wanted to try for a while and some I wasn’t sure enough about to buy a hardcopy of.

VersoHaul

Dominating Others: Feminism and Terror After the War On Terror by Christine Delphy

More adventures in exploring how feminists who are white take on Islamophobia and the war on terror. We’ll see how that goes, can’t say I’m a fan of the cover.

Serve the People: Making Asian America in the Long Sixties by Karen Ishizuka

This one I’m very excited about, it discusses the radical Asian American movement of the 60s.

The Muslims Are Coming!: Islamophobia, Extremism, And the Domestic War On Terror by Arun Kundnani

This one looks at the intersection of Islamophobia, policing and surveillance in the US while the war on terror supposedly only happened somewhere else.

Policing the Planet: Why the Policing Crisis Led to Black Lives Matter by Jordan T. Camp and Christina Heatheron, eds.

Very timely publication and I wanted to review this but with graduation I didn’t manage to finish before it archived on NetGalley. Well looks like I’ll get to finish the book finally, but less enthusiastic about NetGalley now.

Letters to Palestine: Writers Respond to War and Occupation by Vijay Prashad, ed.

This collection looks really great, it brings together voices Remi Kanazi, Robin D.G. Kelley, Teju Cole and Junot Díaz who discuss a growing awareness in the US of the sufferings of people in Gaza.

Traces of History: Elementary Structures of Race by Patrick Wolfe

This work examines regimes of race brought by colonizers and is written by an Australian academic who does settler colonial studies, so I’m hoping it doesn’t disappoint. Guess there’s a theme here of looking at what potential allies are writing.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know about new books on your shelves or your library stack!!

22 thoughts on “Book Haul: London + #VersoBooks Sale

    1. Thanks! 😃 Yes I’m very interested in how the complete collection by Kaur turns out, have heard great things. Heh true, I’m trying to collect all of Okorafor’s works for my library!

    1. Yes! Somehow I followed your bookstagram and completely missed your blog!🙈 Thanks for stopping by! I think Let the Right One In will be perfect Fall reading/late at night reading😁

  1. Lovely haul!! I’ve been looking to get more into science fiction, so The Three-Body Problem looks very intriguing. Letters to Palestine also sounds fascinating. Can’t wait to see your reviews!!!

    I unfollowed and re-followed, but still didn’t receive my email notifications. I’m going to have to tinker with some things and just watch out for new posts on Twitter.

  2. Nice Haul! I’ve read both Milk and Honey and The Three-Body Problem. Both excellent. I really want to start the N.K.Jeminsion series. I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about it.

  3. I am overwhelmed by all of your books! I only got two books for reading from the library this week (The Regional Office Is Under Attack and Oreo), but I think that’s mostly because I am still playing catch up with the beginning of the semester. Happy reading!

  4. That’s so many books, Bina! Glad you had a great time. And yay to buying more physical books. 😊

    Who Fears Death is a few years old now, so I understand why they didn’t carry it…they should still be ashamed, though. I’ll be sure to get The Book of Phoenix as well because I’d love to follow a prequel story. The world Okorafor created is fascinating so I hope she continues on with the series.

    I hope to see reviews for some of these. Enjoy reading them!

  5. What a wonderful haul! Jealous! London in particular, and England in general has a dangerous number of bookshops and charity shops with large book sections. I used to be in terrible book peril every time I went into town when I was at uni for a year in the UK. I’d collected a catastrophic number of books by the time I went home. Had to ditch a bunch of them, including a biography of Lady Colin Campbell I genuinely wish I’d held onto. :/

  6. Fantastic haul! Thank you for giving me a heads up on the Verso sale. I can’t wait to dive into Serve the People, hopefully next month! I hope you enjoy Milk & Honey. It’s been on my want to read poetry edition for a while now. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on these.

  7. It’s disappointing that they didn’t have Who Fears Death, but The Book of Phoenix is phenomenal. I have no doubt that you’ll love it.
    I’m also a big fan of Seanan McGuire! My favorite book of hers is a novella that came out earlier this year: Every Heart a Doorway. It’s one of my top books this year, so check it out if you have a chance! (You can check out my review if you want more info: http://bit.ly/2d8Di4W)

  8. These are all so lovely. I need to read more Okorafor too! If you like poetry, maybe try Shailja Patel’s Migritude? It is SO lovely and I don’t understand why more people haven’t read it.

    1. Thank you!😳 Ooh I read some of Migritude for grad school it is soo good!✊ She’s got awesome v radical politics so maybe that’s why? We should spread the word tho!😁 Also Okorafor is awesome, which ones have you read so far?

      1. I’ve read Binti and The Akata Witch (which was better than HP for me). So I’m definitely behind on catching up. Her politics make sense to me! I’ve been pushing her book onto everyone i know!

        1. Yeah I follow her on twitter for great perspective on not just US politics✊ Yass loved these two!! Also Lagoon which is weird and different and very good😃

  9. Wonderful book haul, Bina! So nice to see John Ajvide Lindqvist’s ‘Let the Right One In’ in your list! I read it for RIP a few years back and loved it! It was a very different vampire novel. So nice to know that you were able to get Policing the World which you couldn’t finish on Net Galley. It is nice that we get a chance to finish books that we like. So wonderful that you got a paper version of The Three Body Problem! I got a few books with stories of Indian detectives yesterday for Diverse Detectives Month 🙂 The Feluda Series and the Byomkesh Bakshi series. Luckily both of them were available in English translation. I also got The Sting of the Wild by Justin Schmidt (a nonfiction book about insects and their stings) and a few chunkster novels – Bottom’s Dream by Arno Schmidt, Captivity by Gyorgi Spiro and A True Novel by Minae Mizumura – and a nonfiction chunkster, Zibaldone by Giacomo Leopardi.

Leave a Reply

