It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last week

There was all the excitement about #DiverseBookBloggers and our directory. Make sure to add your blog and grab a blogger/ally badge!

I also really started on my exam prep and so most of my reading is secondary literature at the moment and excerpts from academic books about Chicana feminism. But I also read a fantastic novel:

juliet takes a breath

Isn’t that the most amazing cover? Go read it now! Especially if you’re a brown girl, lesbian or interested in racism in feminism.

Currently

Still slowly making my way through Borderlands, and might be for a while yet. It’s still amazing!

Gloria-Anzaldua-Borderlands-0829-main

And then during the weekend I also got back into A Stranger in Olondria, and I’m finally really into this world and loving the slow, detailed way in which the story unfolds.

olondria

Soon

I got so many fantastic recommendations for audiobooks from you all, but Scribd didn’t have that many of them, but I put them on my audible wishlist! Since I had to redeem a credit, I chose to go with this one, which comes recommended by Naz from Read Diverse Books.

book of unknown americans

What are you all up to? And what are you reading?

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m impressed you can read and do exam prep at the same time (and blog!). Good luck with everything!
    My reading lately has been slow, but good. I just finished Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford, which was so good. Glad I finally read it!

  2. Good luck with your exam prep and I hope you are still able to treat yourself with fun reading too 🙂 On Sunday, I finished reading the wonderful Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett and I started reading The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris. Also this week I really must start reading The Story of the Amulet by E Nesbit; the final instalment in the Psammead series.

  3. You’re reading some interesting books right now! The Book of Unknown Americans has been on my list for a while…will be curious to hear how you like the audio version.

  4. Yes yes yes I am hearing amazing things about Juliet Takes a Breath! I just added it to my TBR list yesterday, I can’t remember on whose recommendation, but now I have a second recommendation of it from you, so I’m even exciteder to read it.

    1. Yes, it’s so good, you’ll love it too, I hope 🙂 I will be buying a hardcopy, if that is any indication 😀 It’s on Scribd, but I don’t think you have a subscription? There is a 14 day trial option btw!

  5. Putting Juliet Takes a Breath on the TBR!

    Right now I’m finishing up Fables Vol. 7, and about to begin Every Day is For the Thief by Teju Cole. I’ve never read him before so I’m excited about it.

    1. Yes do, you’t won’t regret it! 🙂 Yay Teju Cole, I haven’t read his stuff before either, so I will have to follow your good example soon:) I’ve been hearing such good thing about Fables, I’ll need to give it a try.

  6. ‘Juliet takes a breath’ – the cover is beautiful and the book looks wonderful. I so want to read it! All the best for your exams!

    1. Isn’t the cover gorgeous!:) Hope you’ll get to read it soon Thanks so much, Vishy, it’ll be out into the real world for me soon

  7. I’m so happy you loved Juliet Takes a Breath! And omg, so many people are interested in reading it now! Yes! Our incessant promotion is working 😀

    The Book of Unknown Americans is such a lovely novel. It was very dear to me because I could relate to so many of the stories. You don’t have the same background to draw from personally, but I hope you love it all the same. 🙂

    1. Yes so excited to see it keep popping up! It was so amazing, especially the woc feminism angle.
      It must be very special to you 🙂 I’m hoping I’ll love it, too, and learn about others’ experiences.

  8. Oooooo I would love to hear more about your non-fiction/academic chicana feminism list 🙂 I miss school! (hehe but I probably wouldn’t be if this was finals time…) Also just grabbed yet another wonderful recommendation from you – A Stranger in Olondria sounds just up my alley. Thank you so much Bina!

Leave a Reply

