It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

Last Week

I’ve managed to finish some books finally, I feel like I’m always working through 6 books at a time, and it takes me ages to get anything read. Time to rethink that strategy, but I’m always saying that. I did finish two  good ones though:

miri castor

Opal Charm: The Path To Dawn by Miri Castor is the first book in a fantasy series about reluctant heroine Opal Charm, who struggles with life and family as it is, but then her new friend Hope Adaire let’s slip that Opal is the only one to save Hope’s world from destruction. Poor Opal! A very readable fantasy novel and I’ll be reading the sequel when it comes out. gr-pic

unhallowed graves

Unhallowed Graves by Nuzo Onoh is a Nigerian horror collection and I did my best to read it in daylight but it’s much more fun to read at night by candle light. Fantastic settings and use of mythology, do read if you’re into the creepy stuff! gr-pic

Since it’s also finally fall, my favorite season, I went to the pumpkin market. Most of these will make excellent dinners as well as pumpkin bread and cookies!

pumpkin-haul

Currently

Reading some more excellent books at the moment. I have too many on the go, but here’s what I’m mostly focusing on:

daybreak-rising

Daybreak Rising by Kiran Oliver. A YA/NA fantasy book about a failed hero with the chance at redemption. So far I’m really into the anti-normativity of the characters and the story’s politics. And finally someone who knows what demiromantic is and yeah that got my attention, so here I am reading a book with lots of romance elements. gr-pic

henandchick

Hen & Chick by Tristan J. Tarwater, another YA fantasy. Kinda proud of myself for exploring more YA! Also, this one has pirates AND magic! How could I resist? Add to that brown girls kicking ass and a focus on mother-daughter relationships. gr-pic

posada

Posada: Offerings of Witness and Refuge by Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo, a wonderful collection of poetry. I’m working my way through it at the moment, since it’s LatinX Heritage Month and check out all the amazing LatinX things going on at Naz’s Read Diverse Books!

Soon

diversedetectivefiction-badge

It’ll be October soon and I’m very excited for the Diverse Detective Fiction Month hosted by Silicon and myself. More info here, including sign-ups. The only requirement is to read 1 #DiverseDetectives book and write about it on your blog/goodreads/bookstagram. Won’t you join us?

What have you all been up to? Have a great week!

27 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m listening to Helen Macdonald’s “H is for Hawk,” and just started reading No Matter The Wreckage by Sarah Kay. Next up is The Path to Dawn! 🙂 I also bought some canned pumpkin to make pumpkin bread with, because I love it to death!

  2. I love the season of pumpkin-flavored everything 🙂 I always make lots of pumpkin chili and pumpkin bread during the fall. You have some really interesting-sounding books on here–Daybreak Rising sounds like it could be really cool, I’ll have to check it out. And Unhallowed Graves sounds awesome!

    1. Yass pumpkin season🙌 Your pumpkin bread sounds fantastic, I need to try adding chilli! Both books were really good, I definitely recommend them!

  3. Reading 6 books at once really is kind of excessive, Bina. Maybe scale it back to 3 :p

    I’ve never read any Miri Castor books. You’re actually the person to introduce me to her! Her name is awesome; she sounds like a character from Game of Thrones.
    I’m also in a horror/spooky mood lately, so I will see if I can find Unhallowed Graves because yass to diverse horror and awesome short story collections!
    Everything you’re reading right now is so awesome!!!
    I adored The Marauder’s Island and Daybreak Rising looks so cool. As for Posada, it MUST go into my poetry TBR.
    I love what you read. ❤

    1. I know!🙈 I need to stop picking up new books! At least I finished a few finally, but yeah such a bad habit.
      Yeah she has a superhero name! I enjoyed the book and it’ll be great to see how her writing develops with the next books in the series!
      I’ll review Posada in time for LatinX month and hope I can gush about it😃
      Daybreak and Unhallowed Graves were both really good!! Also the latter is on Kindle unlimited so u could read via free Trial.
      So excited for Chick&Hen!!🙌📚

    1. Oh yay someone whi juggles books too🙌 I’m sure u manage better than me. I hope to go back to reading 4 at a time but I tend to start a new book If I’m in a different mood🙈
      I can’t wait to read Hen&Chick!!

  4. 6 books is quite impressive. A horror set in Nigeria, I can just imagine. I have watched some horror movies from Naija and they are pretty scary. I find them to be more terrifying that Hollywood horrors.I’d like to read that book though. The challenge sounds good too.

    1. Oh that sounds so good, I’ll need to check out more Nigerian horror then! I found Unhallowed Graves really good, definitely recommend it!😃📚

  5. That habit, of reading so many books at once, is one that I frequently think of altering, too, but, then, I just keep on with it. Whenever I do actually tidy and stack and read a single book at a time, I’m amazed by how quickly one can read a single book, and I think that I should do it all the time, but then “books happen”. And we’re back to stacking! I’m with ya! (Also, do you actually have a proper pumpkin market? I’ve never heard that phrase. But our farmers’ markets are soon going to have squash and pumpkins (not quite there yet crop-wise, but on the front-edge.)

Leave a Reply

