Teaser Tuesday

Another advantage of reading more than one book at a time: I can make a teaser tuesday post even though one book I´m reading is in German (originally Swedish: Daisy Sisters by Henning Mankell) and has not yet been translated into English.

Not an astronaut but an English professor. He should have guessed.

It was the natural destiny of a book-hungry child, and yet somehow the sheer accumulation of knowledge it must have required unnerved him a little and he stayed away from the university until late August.

(Nicole Krauss: Man Walks Into A Room. 52)

ANY_CHARACTERS_HERE
ANY_CHARACTERS_HERE
ANY_CHARACTERS_HERE

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by Should Be Reading and this is how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

21 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. Thanks for visiting! I like both your teasers and the title of the book. This TT is so good to discover new books! I’ve read quite a few Menkell’s books and most of them in Italian. They are quite popular there. If you’ve got the time, can you suggest me some new good German authoors to read pls? My German is getting a bit rusty! Tschuess. Ciao. Antonella

    1. Thanks for commenting 🙂 Here are some German books that have had some good reviews (not all new, but contemporary):
      Der Geschmack von Apfelkernen (Katharina Hagena)
      Das Parfüm (Patrick Süskind)
      Tintenherz (Cornelia Funke)
      Gut gegen Nordwind (Daniel Glattauer)
      Die Vermessung der Welt (Daniel Kehlmann)
      Die Freibadclique (Oliver Storz)

      I hope these help polishing your German. Viel Spass!

  2. Interesting teaser! I haven’t read any of Nicole Krauss’ books, but have heard great things about them. Looking forward to reading your review of this book.

  3. Reading in German is pretty special, I wish I knew another language. The teaser sounds really good and I love the title of the book. I love your blog and will definitely start following it!

    1. Thanks! I´m German so it´s not very special for me 🙂 I love your blog as well and added it to my google reader.

  4. Thanks very much for suggesting the books, Bina. I’ve noted them down and will try to find them here in the UK or better order them via Amazon.de. Vielen Dank. Ciao. A.

    1. It´s a great book (although unbelievably gross), but I liked the cinematography of the movie. Hope you can get your hands on some of these books, to my knowledge Amazon.de has them all 🙂

Leave a comment