Library Loot: September 8-14

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Marg has the Mr. Linky this week!


Since I’m home at my parents this month, I have to make do with the small-town library. But I did manage to find some great books, even if many of them are in German (which I realize is something I shouldn’t hold against a German library 😀 ). And no, I will definitely not be able to read all of those this month, but I like the pile next to my bed.

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox (Maggie O’Farrell)

I’ve heard only great things about this book so of course I couldn’t resist when I saw it at the library.

A Life Like Other People’s (Alan Bennett)

Like most people I loved The Uncommon Reader, and then I read Bennet’s The Clothes they Stood up in & The Lady in the Van and knew I wanted to read everything else he had written, too. This book then is Bennett’s memoir.

Generation X (Donald Coupland)

I’m probably the only one who hasn’t read this yet.

The Easter Parade (Richard Yates)

I’m reading this one at the moment, and it’s fantastic. Yates can do no wrong.

Little Face (Sophie Hannah)

Literary crime, literary thriller, I like it! This is the first book in Hannah’s series around the police officers Charlie and Simon. I read a later book in the series first, and now think that if you enjoy one, you’ll like the others. They seem to be pretty similar.

The Raw Shark Texts (Steven Hall)

This is the third time I’ve checked this out, hopefully no one will request it before I’m through with it, argh!

Mao II (Don DeLillo)

DeLillo’s written so many books, I’m determined to like one of them!

Musicophilia (Oliver Sacks)

Can’t wait to find out what Sacks makes of music and the brain, it’s probably going to be awesome. Though I’d love to get hold of his work on migraine.

This is Your Brain on Music (Daniel Levitin)

More on music, I adore the title! And there is a quote by Sacks on the cover 🙂

The Perfect Crime (Jean Baudrillard)

Yup, this is the nerdy loot. It’ll probably take me 30 minutes to read the first page, and then some research to find out what it means 😉

Symbolic Exchange and Death (Jean Baudrillard)

I thought with two of Baudrillard’s work, I am bound to find one more accessible.

Culture and Imperialism (Edward W. Said)

I’ve only reads some excerpts here and there by Said, I want to step it up to some chapters. I wish Orientalism hadn’t been checked out though.

What did you recently loot from the library?

23 thoughts on “Library Loot: September 8-14

  1. I love the title of This is Your Brain on Music. I read Gen X ages ago. I might need to think about rereading it. I enjoy a few of his other books too.
    Enjoy your loot!

  2. Lovely Library Loot, Bina 🙂 I have read one book by Maggie O’Farrell ‘After you’d Gone’, which was her first. I loved it and it made me cry. I haven’t read any of her other books yet, but one of these days I hope to read all of them. Hope you enjoy reading ‘The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox’. The Don Delilo book and the books on music look wonderful!

    Enjoy reading your ‘Library Loot’ 🙂

    1. Glad you loved After you’ Gone, I’m putting that on my tbr as well 🙂 This is your brain on music is great so far, I can really recommend it.

  3. And you want to read all of those books when exactly? Just kidding, but this is quite the pile. I LOVE Alan Bennett and I had to read Said during my studies. I look forward to discovering the rest of them in your reviews!

    I hope you’ll have a great time reading your way through your loot! 🙂

  4. Amazing loot! The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox is a favourite and I love Alan Bennett – Untold Stories in particular (A Life Like Other People’s having been the title story in that volume). Has to be said that I have never successfully finished Generation X, though I have enjoyed a number of Coupland’s other books. Both of the books on music also look fascinating.

    Enjoy your loot!

    1. So glad to hear that you loved The Vanishing, I’m sure I’ll enjoy it then 🙂 Generation X is like entering a very strange world for me, more removed than fantasy somehow 🙂 But it’s very interesting so far.

  5. I love how you actually bring home a proper loot, I usually only manage two or three books at a time. Sadly haven’t been to the library recently still got my last loot to get through.

    1. I enjoyed Little Face, though The Other Half was more suspenseful. But I can recommend the series, they make great rainy Sunday reads, and you probably won’t be able to put them down 🙂

  6. This is truly a wonderful loot! I am waiting for your reviews particularly on the Esme Lennox book, since as you said I have heard only good things about it… 🙂 Have fun!

  7. Musicophilia sounds cool, I have read “The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat” by Oliver Sacks and that one was really good. It would be interesting to read what that man has to say on music.

Leave a Reply

