It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

image

The meme that we use to share what we read this past week and what our plans are for the upcoming week. Now hosted by The Book Date.

It’s Monday again, phew time flies! I have my thesis deadline coming up at the beginning of March, so the next few weeks will be quite stressful and sadly not filled with much fun reading. We’ll see how we’ll I’ll do with blogging until then. I can’t wait for having guilt-free reading time again!

Last Week

indexing

I finished Indexing by Seanan McGuire, a sort of procedural urban fantasy about a law enforcement agency for fairy tales. I really enjoyed McGuire’s October Daye and the premise sounded fantastic, so I read Indexing looking for fun escapism. And that’s what I got. Sadly the characters were a bit unrelatable, I wasn’t really invested in any of them and the execution of the story didn’t live up the brilliant premise. But it was still an enjoyable read and I will definitely give the sequel a chance.

Currently

978184724545812.jpg.jpeg

We’re in the middle of our The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo readalong, so I’m still reading that one. It’s gotten very suspenseful now and it’s a tough read with all that’s going on, but I’m very curious about the ending now.

hp audio

I’m currently rereading Harry Potter on audiobook, it’s so nice to start again with the first book. The wide-eyed wonder, the magic, Hogwarts, Hermione! I love listening to this one before bed, it helps me calm down after a stressful day.

black skin white coats

My current non-fiction read is a fascinating account of the decolonization of Nigerian psychiatry and the globalization of psychiatry. If you’re interested in colonialism, the history of medicine and social sciences, you’ll find this one worth the read. I’m an academic, so maybe I’m biased but I think Heaton’s writing is clear and accessible.

Reading Plans

I have so many plans, but that’s for after graduation. For the next few weeks I hope I get to read period. I’m eyeing shorter works, comics and comfort reads, maybe along the lines of:

wells and wong

Murder Most Unladylike is the first Wells & Wong mystery. Set in the 1930s, the two girls Hazel and Daisy set up their very own secret detective agency.

lumberjanes 9

Continuing with the brilliant Lumberjanes, they always cheer me up!

jackaby

Started Jackaby in December I think, but right at the beginning we got to learn about the brilliant brilliant genius dude and turned me off real quick. Have been assured it’ll get better and the female character will not be starstruck sidekick throughout the novel.

What have you been reading? Any special reading plans?

28 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’ll have to take a look at Black Skin, White Coats. Sounds interesting.
    My plan is to continue rereading Pride & Prejudice but it’s possible I’ll DNF it because I still find it boring, or rather, I still hate the dialogue. I’ll probably read something else.

    1. Yes White Coats is so good! Ooh I loved the dialogue in P&P. But better to just choose another book if you don’t like it. Or try the updated versiin: the webseries The Lizzie Bennett Diaries, it’s awesome ☺

  2. Your plan for shorter book, comics, and comfort reads makes a lot of sense for this stressful period… good luck!! I’m STILL reading City on Fire. That should keep me busy for at least another week!

  3. You ARE reading a lot despite your thesis work, Bina. 🙂 I wouldn’t have balanced it all so well. You inspire me.

    I will post my thoughts on ‘The Girl…’ after you finish the book.

    ‘Harry Potter’ audiobook sounds fantastic. I. Must. Explore. Audiobooks. Soon. By the way, I love Hagrid. For obvious reasons. 🙂

    I have been reading a lot about ‘Jackaby’. It is still expensive here. So, I should go for my Kindle copy, I suppose. But the cover is beautiful. I will wish for it, maybe. 😉

    The non-fiction sounds intriguing. Let me see if I can get a copy.

    I am reading your favourite. ‘Carry On’. 😀

    And, I managed to loot quite a few books in thefewazon Great Indian Sale. Will tell you about it soon. 🙂 Have a good week ahead.

    1. Aww thanks Deepika ☺ You inspire me!
      Oh yes I should be done with the Larsson soon. Yes the audiobook is wonderful and helps me get to sleep. Heh you’ll come to enjoy audiobooks! Hagrid is awesome!
      The Jackaby cover really is great. Jury’s still out on the quality of the book 😊 I will try it again.
      Yay glad you’re living Carry In and how awesome you get to read it so soon after HP!
      Hah that sale sounds awesome, you should totally do a post on your new books 😀

  4. I am pleased to hear you have still been enjoying your reading; even though you are also working hard! I have just finished reading Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley and I have just started reading cosy crime The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King.

    1. Thanks, Jessica ☺ Oh how are you liking the Laurie King? I’ve been meaning to give it another go. Last time I found the relationship between old Holmes and the young female character to creepy.

  5. Phew! You have quite the number of books you’re plowing through! Props and mad respect.
    I finished reading “Loud Hands: Autistic People, Speaking” by Julia Bascom last night. Today, I’ll be starting “Interpreter of Maladies” by Jhumpa Lahiri.
    I’m taking a crack at the Diversity On The Shelf Reading Challenge for 2016, so I appreciate your mentioning “Black Skin, White Coats”. I’ll definitely see if I can check it out at my university’s library!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Cara! Heh cheers, I’m trying to balance the work and the fun 😊
      Loud Hands sounds intriguing, will have to take a look at it! Oh I really enjoyed Interpreter, hope you’re liking it so far!
      Yay, so great you’re doing the Diversity challenge too! White Coats is a good one for the challenge!

  6. Kudos to you on keeping up with some fun reading along with your thesis work!

    I’m currently reading Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison for the first time, and it’s just amazing so far. I’m slowly working my way through all of her work.

    1. Thank you! ☺ Ooh Morrison is so amazing! I’ve only read a couple of her works, like you I’m trying to read her works slowly and savor them.

  7. I’ve pointed our office junior in the direction of the GWTDT readlaong as I pushed the trilogy on him and he’s adoring it so far 🙂 I’m on for my first proper zombie book this week courtesy of my book group. I can’t wait!!

    1. Thanks for stopping by! ☺ Good to hear he’s enjoying it! It’s really gotten exiting now, I’m in the middle of it.
      Ooh sounds exiting, have a blast with the zombie book!

  8. Yes yes! I had that same reaction to Jackaby! I thought about Linda Holmes’s description of the perennially popular TV show idea “The Adventures of Mr. Superabilities and Detective Ladyskeptic” and couldn’t continue reading. I’ll go back to it sometime though!

    1. YES that’s it exactly it!! I’m willing to try again as it’s supposed to get better, but if it doesn’t convince, who has time for that same old bullshit!?

  9. Loved your post, Bina! Wonderful books you have read / are reading! I love the cover of ‘Jackaby’ too! So nice to know that you are listening to the first Harry Potter now. I also love the title – ‘Murder Most Unladylike’ 🙂

    All the best on your thesis! Hope you also get a some fun reading time while you are working on your thesis.

    1. Thanks so much, Vishy! 🙂 Yes the Jackaby cover is very nice isn’t! I’m very excited about Murder Most, it’s a first in a mystery series:)

  10. My wife read the entire Millennium series. She loved it.

    Having seen the films, which were likely less complex, I can see have the plot may become so intricate as to become difficult.

    I look forward to your future posts on this book.

  11. The cover of Jackaby looks so beautiful. I reminds me of the Victorian age books (Google later told me I was right :)).
    How’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? Are you still enjoying it?
    Good luck with the thesis. Not long now, and then you’ll have plenty of time to pamper yourself with books. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Delia! Yes, very good guess, I do like that cover as well ☺
      I did enjoy The Girl With, but it was a tough read, the original title is really much more accurate. Heh yes I do plan to pamper myself 😁

Leave a Reply

