Mailbox Monday

“Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.” This month it is hosted by She Reads and Reads.

 

Irresistible Empire – America’s Advance through 20th Century Europe (Victoria de Grazia)

Another one on American consumerism. Uni is completely awesome and made me get this book 🙂

Ella Minnow Pea (Mark Dunn)

I’ve been wanting to read Ella Minnow Pea since I read Ana’s review, and guess what I found in a used bookstore in Copenhagen?! Finished this one yesterday, it’s fantastic. If you love dystopian fiction, epistolary novels and language give this one a try.

The Female Malady – Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Elaine Showalter)

From the same store, I was squealing (on the inside I hope) when I found this stacked away. Showalter examines madness as the female malady. She highlights the connection between the social conventions for and oppression of women with female insanity and goes into the history of psychiatry, and he representation of “the madwoman in the attic”.

 

What books came into your house last week?

16 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. Bina girl the cover for Irresistible Girl is great! Another new to me selection that I will look up further on Goodreads. You always open the gates of literature and thank goodness for that! Hello DING! I do read non historical romance sometimes… ;P

    1. Irresistible Empire! 🙂 It better be good, I’ll be spending a lot of time with it 🙂
      Glad to do that, you know you do the same for me, you read such an eclectic mix 🙂

  2. I find them all quite interesting- especially The Female Malady. I have been trying to be good lately (ie. my bookshelves are overflowing) and didn’t buy any books in store last week. I did, however, come home to the first three Luxe books and The Interpretation of Murder today!

  3. Interesting collection in your Monday Mailbox, Bina 🙂 Elaine Showalter’s ‘The Female Malady’ looks like an interesting and wonderful book. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

    I like the fact that the host of ‘Monday Mailbox’ this week is ‘She Reads and Reads’ 🙂 I love that blog-name 🙂

    And your uni is awesome! The kind of reading-list they give to students is amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

