Weekend Reads

weekend reads

It’s Friday! And thus usually the time I get most of my reading done. I’m a bit more flexible about my hours during the week at the moment but it’s still the weekends where I often save a book I’m really excited about for some serious reading time. Sometimes I make plans to read a specific book or reread an old favorite and close the door on the hectic world. So I expect weekend reads to be epic adventures, new worlds to explore or a mystery to figure out. If you want to loose yourself in a book this weekend, let me recommend some weekend reads to you:

tooth and claw

1. Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton

Family drama and money intrigue, Victorian era, Pride and Prejudice with dragons!, social commentary, dragons!

fingersmith

2. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters

Victorian London, Dickens with lesbians, super twisty, class, thievery

niko

3. Niko by Kayti Nika Raet

Please don’t judge the book by its cover, post-apocalyptic wasteland, this is how you do diversity, body horror, kick-ass heroine

the between

4.The Between by Tananarive Due

Floridian horror or is it a mystery or a thriller, Black family history, what is going on, warning for Due always delivers on the creepiness

sorcerer to the crown

5. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

Ye stuffy olde England now upgraded with magic, familiars, diverse characters, and the best heroine ever. You can read this in a day and then lament the wait for the sequel.

Do you make reading plans on some weekends? What are your favorite weekend reads?

 

 

24 thoughts on “Weekend Reads

    1. Ugh yeah I’m really not a fan of that cover. But I remember that I was super suprised by how great the book was and such a diverse group of characters. Definitely something to recommend for readers who don’t mind the whole depressing post-apocalyptic pemise 🙂

        1. Yay then I think you might end up enjoying it! I’ve somehow never had a problem with body horror and creepy depressing stuff in tv shows and movies but had to start slow with books, somehow they make more of an impression on me.

    1. Heh luckily I’m not trying to read all of those 🙂 But I do love some good weekend reading without the disruptions of the weekday. Happy Sunday!

  1. Why do I think I should read all of it? 🙂 I have been thinking of reading Sarah Waters for a long time. You recommended ‘Affinity’ sometime ago. Maybe, I will start with that. Thanks, Bina. 🙂

    1. Haha you definitely should 😀 Yes definitely try Sarah Waters, I think Fingersmith is everyone’s favorite by her and super addictive reading! But I like all of her stuff, though her earlier works are the most suspenseful.

  2. Wonderful recommendations, Bina! Thanks! I want to read that Zen Cho book. ‘Best heroine ever’ – yes, I want to read her story 🙂 And, of course, I want to read ‘Fingersmith’.

    1. Yay glad you like these recs! Oh I do thik you’ll end up loving Sorcerer to the Crown! 🙂 Also yes to Fingersmith, it’s hard to put down 🙂

    1. Yay that’ a great way to spend a Saturday! I do chores etc on Saturday, too, and then the rest of the weekend is for fun and fun reading 🙂

  3. I grumble very many grumbles that even though I did not judge Niko by its cover and instead totally trusted you, my library still didn’t have it because they obviously hate me and don’t want me to be happy. 😡

    1. So much reason for grumbling! I had to ILL the book, too, but my library never has anything. So weird since its a YA series,maybe they didn’t trust me about the cover! Hope you can get your hands on a copy!

Leave a Reply

